CD Very Best of Gene Vincent [EMI] (CD 915259),
back to browsing

Very Best of Gene Vincent [EMI]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Be-Bop-A-Lula?
    2. Who Slapped John?
    3. Bluejean Bop
    4. Unchained Melody
    5. Woman Love
    6. Pink Thunderbird
    7. Jezebel
    8. Teenage Partner
    9. She She Little Sheila
    10. I Got A Baby
    11. Baby Blue
    12. Dance to The Bop
    13. Lotta Lovin'
    14. Git It
    15. Say Mama
    16. Beautiful Brown Eyes
    17. Pistol Packin' Mama
    18. Over The Rainbow
    19. Wedding Bells (Are Breaking Up That Old Gang of Mine)
    20. Bop Street
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Race With the Devil
    2. Cruisin'
    3. My Heart
    4. Well, I Knocked, Bim Bam
    5. Crazy Legs
    6. Important Words
    7. Red Blue Jeans and a Pony Tail
    8. I Sure Miss You
    9. In My Dreams
    10. Yes, I Love You, Baby
    11. You'll Never Walk Alone
    12. Rocky Road Blues
    13. Wildcat
    14. Brand New Beat
    15. Ain't She Sweet
    16. Jump Back, Honey, Jump Back
    17. Lazy River
    18. Pretty, Pretty Baby
    19. Jumps, Giggles and Shouts
    20. Hold Me, Hug Me, Rock Me
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 74683

  • Credits

    Gene Vincent hasn't fared well in terms of best-of albums across the decades, partly because of the neglect of his record label, Capitol -- indeed, domestically, he's been much better represented by Collectables Records under license from Capitol. But in England, where Vincent achieved a massive following on a series of overseas tours in the late '50s, Capitol's parent company EMI Records has issued all manner of Gene Vincent collections, including a boxed set done long before such releases were common, representing virtually his complete output. This double-CD set covers all of the highlights of Vincent's career from 1956 through 1959, though it is still no substitute for the pent-up power of his debut album, which stands in a class by itself -- anyone having that record can hold off on buying this imported double-disc set, but if you must go past those early sides, then this is probably the best assembly of Vincent's classic Capitol sides that are likely to turn up, with virtually all of his great music, presented in state of the art digital sound that gives all of his music a close-up, in your face presence, almost resembling a live performance. The notes by Dave McAleer are also interesting, in giving a decidedly Anglo-centric look at Vincent's career (he was far more successful in England than the United States after 1956). ~ Bruce Eder

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $9.30
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for