CD 16 Most Requested Songs [Bing Crosby] (CD 6291848),
back to browsing

16 Most Requested Songs [Bing Crosby]

  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 749637

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Bing Crosby (vocals); Eddie Lang, Dick McDonough (guitar); Les Dreyer, Bennie Krueger (alto saxophone); Max Farley, Saxie Mansfield, Larry Binyon (tenor saxophone); Lebert Lombardo (trumpet); Will Bradley (trombone); Hank Stern (tuba); Joe Meresco, Fulton McGrath (piano); Artie Bernstein (acoustic bass); Larry Gomar, Chauncey Morehouse, Stan King (drums).
    Includes liner notes by Didier C. Deutsch.
    Digitally remastered by Mark Wilder (1992, Sony Music Studios).
    For those curious about the origins of American popular singing, this collection of Bing Crosby's early solo recordings (1931-1934) for Brunswick is a must. If there is any doubt how seminal Crosby was, just compare him to any number of white male "crooners" from the late '20s. The crooners are almost without exception irremediably corny, off-pitch, and altogether unlistenable. In contrast, Crosby, whose roots were in jazz, had timing, vocal flexibility, and tremendous verve, as well a certain Midwestern detachment, which allowed him to put across the love songs of the day with his musical integrity intact.
    The compilation gathers all the essential early Crosby milestones such as his oft-imitated (and parodied) "Temptation," "You're Getting to Be a Habit With Me," the chilling Depression-era classic "Brother, Can You Spare a Dime?," and the astonishingly hard-swinging "Sweet Georgia Brown," guaranteed to perk up even the most jaded of ears. The first three selections also feature the early Mills Brothers, who add a bit of musical if not racial harmony to the proceedings.

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (4/93, p.96) - 3 Stars - Good - "...illustrates just how much skill went into the Crosby persona..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $7.80
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for