CD Bewitched [Laura Fygi] (CD 972688),
back to browsing

Bewitched [Laura Fygi]

  • 1. Dream a Little Dream
    2. It's Crazy
    3. Good Morning Heartache
    4. Let There Be Love
    5. I Only Have Eyes For You
    6. Bewitched
    7. End of a Love Affair, The
    8. I Love You For Sentimental Reasons
    9. Just One of Those Things
    10. Girl Talk
    11. I Wish You Love
    12. Willow Weep For Me
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 514 724

  • Credits
    ProducerRuud Jacobs

    Personnel: Laura Fygi (vocals), Jurre Haanstra (conductor, arranger), Ferdinand Povel (flute, saxophone), Hans Vroomans (piano), Gwenael Micault, John Van Eyk (keyboards), Jurre Haanstra (keyboards, bass, drums, percussion), Francis Goya, Phil Lee, Bert Meulendijk (guitar), Ruud Jacobs, Malcolm Creese (bass), Peter Ypma, Harold Fisher (drums), Frits Landesbergen (percussion), The London Studio Symphony Orchestra.
    Laura Fygi's Bewitched is a straight-ahead jazz date in which the attractive singer is joined by a rhythm section, a string section, and some guests. She performs fresh and warm versions of a dozen songs, the majority of which are ballads. The performances are concise (only one tune exceeds four and a half minutes) and lightly swinging, although the string section sometimes seems unnecessary. Toots Thielemans' harmonica helps out on "Good Morning Heartache" and "Girl Talk," Clark Terry uplifts "It's Crazy" and "The End of a Love Affair" with his flugelhorn, and tenor great Johnny Griffin is featured on "I Only Have Eyes for You," "I Love You for Sentimental Reasons," and "I Wish You Love." Throughout, Fygi holds her own and sounds quite relaxed and musical, making these standards her own. Recommended. ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.22
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for