CD Collected Cool [Box] (CD 16034707),
back to browsing

Collected Cool [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1: MEMORIES ARE MADE OF THIS 1949-1961:
    1. Dean's Spoken Word Introductions - (previously unreleased)
    2. My Own, My Only, My All
    3. Powder Your Face with Sunshine (Smile! Smile! Smile!)
    4. I Don't Care if the Sun Don't Shine
    5. That's Amore
    6. If I Could Sing Like Bing
    7. Sway
    8. Long, Long Ago
    9. Memories Are Made of This - (featuring The Easy Riders)
    10. Pardners - (featuring Jerry Lewis)
    11. Volare
    12. Rio Bravo
    13. On an Evening in Roma
    14. Sleep Warm
    15. Ain't That a Kick in the Head
    16. Just in Time
    17. Arrivederci Roma
    18. Return to Me
    19. Hundred Years from Today, A
    1. Tik-a-Tee, Tik-a-Tay
    2. Senza Fine
    3. Who's Got the Action
    4. Guys and Dolls
    5. Marina
    6. Everybody Loves Somebody [With Instrumental Quartet]
    7. Door Is Still Open to My Heart, The
    8. You're Nobody 'til Somebody Loves You
    9. In the Misty Moonlight
    10. Sophia
    11. Send Me the Pillow You Dream On
    12. In the Chapel in the Moonlight
    13. Welcome to My World
    14. Houston
    15. I Will
    16. Somewhere There's a Someone
    17. My First Country Song
    18. L.A. Is My Home
    1. Drink to Me Only with Thine Eyes
    2. Almost Like Being in Love
    3. I Love Tahoe (Paris)
    4. Show Banter #1
    5. My Kind of Girl
    6. Show Banter #2
    7. Show Banter #3
    8. June in January
    9. Show Banter #4
    10. Break It to Me Gently
    11. Show Banter #5
    12. Rock-a-Bye Your Baby with a Dixie Melody
    13. Instrumental
    14. Show Banter #6
    15. Primrose Lane/You Are Too Beautiful/Carolina in the Morning/Love Walked In/I Enjoy Being a Girl
    16. Beautiful Dreamer
    17. You Made Me Love You
    18. It Had to Be You/Nevertheless
    19. I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter
    20. Volare
    21. On an Evening in Roma
    22. Show Banter #7
    23. I Love Paris (Tahoe)
    24. Outro
    1. Introduction
    2. Drink to Me Only with Thine Eyes/When You're Smiling/Pennies from Heaven
    3. L-O-V-E
    4. Everybody Loves Somebody
    5. Where or When
    6. Welcome to My World
    7. Drinking Champagne
    8. That's Amore
    9. Medley
    10. Bad, Bad Leroy Brown
    11. For the Good Times
    12. Here Comes My Baby
    13. Little Ole Wine Drinker Me
    14. Bumming Around
    15. One Hour with You
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): B 001681900

  • Credits
    ProducerFrank Collura; Jaime Feldman; Herb Agner

    Liner Note Authors: James Ritz; Bill Zehme.
    Recording information: Apollo Victoria Theatre, London, England (07/27/1962); Cal-Neva Lodge, Lake Tahoe, CA (07/27/1962); Apollo Victoria Theatre, London, England (12/17/1948-07/??/1985); Cal-Neva Lodge, Lake Tahoe, CA (12/17/1948-07/??/1985); Apollo Victoria Theatre, London, England (1983); Cal-Neva Lodge, Lake Tahoe, CA (1983).
    Photographers: Philippe Halsman; Ed Thrasher; Terry O'Neill ; Ken Veeder; Glenn A. Baker; Ernest Reshovsky; Sid Avery; David Sutton ; Chester Maydole; Bob Willoughby.
    He may have played second banana to Jerry Lewis and (later) Frank Sinatra, but whether he was in the studio or in front of a crowd, no one carried a song (or performance) quite like Dean Martin. Martin's interpretive skills were extraordinary, and he could go from the slickest of clowning to the smoothest of crooning in a heartbeat. Collected Cool, his first career-spanning box set, came along surprisingly late, but it's no less impressive for the late arrival. A four-disc set, it includes one disc of Capitol recordings (the '50s), one disc of Reprise recordings (the '60s through the '80s), one audio disc of a concert in Lake Tahoe from 1962, and a DVD featuring a London concert from 1983. The audio portion is an excellent selection of hits and neglected classics, with a few unreleased nuggets -- all of which deserved the excavation. The 1962 show is riotous and very entertaining, with Martin repurposing standards into new songs like "Almost Like Losin' My Mind" (instead of being in love) and "I Love Tahoe" (instead of Paris). The 1983 show is slightly more staid, and features more of the country material Martin turned to later in his career. It's easy to wish that the earlier concert was available on video, especially since some of the jokes are visual and lost on an audio-only audience, but Collected Cool functions extremely well as the best possible overview of the aspects that made Dean Martin a star -- his peerless voice and, equally, his distinctively cool and clowning way with a crowd. ~ John Bush

  • Critic Reviews
    Mojo (Publisher) (p.100) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[Martin] still gets accorded some respect as an archetypal suave, highball-toting crooner."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $59.22
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for