CD Delightful Doris Drew (CD 894761),
back to browsing

Delightful Doris Drew

  • 1. I Got the Sun in the Morning
    2. Cabin in the Sky
    3. There Will Never Be Another You
    4. Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams (And Dream Your Troubles Away)
    5. He's My Guy
    6. Once You Find Your Guy
    7. You and the Night and the Music
    8. If I Should Lose You
    9. I Only Have Eyes for You
    10. I Cried for You
    11. (Just One Way to Say) I Love You
    12. Something to Remember You By
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 69

  • Credits
    ProducerRed Clyde
    EngineerDayton Howe

    Personnel: Herb Geller (alto); Dave Pell (tenor saxophone); Don Fagerquist (trumpet); Bob Enevoldsen (valve trombone); Marty Paich (piano, celesta).
    Liner Note Author: Joe Quinn .
    Recording information: Hollywood, CA (09/1957).
    Doris Drew, who appeared on television variety shows fairly regularly in the 1950s, only recorded this one jazz-influenced recording (a Mode set that has been reissued on CD by V.S.O.P.). Drew is joined by an octet that includes trumpeter Dan Fagerquist, altoist Herb Geller and tenor-saxophonist Dave Pell in addition to (on two-thirds of the songs) a string section. Pianist Marty Paich contributed the arrangements and there are spots for some short solos but it would have been nice to have heard Drew on a full set without the fiddles. This is a worthwhile reissue for Doris Drew had an appealing voice and a lightly swinging style. ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $14.66
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for