CD Gold [Canada] (CD 6272868),
back to browsing

Gold [Canada]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. I Loves You Porgy
    2. Don't Smoke in Bed
    3. Mississippi Goddam
    4. Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
    5. Laziest Gal in Town, The
    6. Don't Take All Night
    7. See Line Woman
    8. I Put a Spell on You
    9. Ne Me Quitte Pas
    10. Feeling Good
    11. My Baby Just Cares for Me
    12. Take Care of Business
    13. Be My Husband
    14. Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out
    15. Strange Fruit
    16. Sinnerman
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Other Woman, The
    2. Don't Explain
    3. Images
    4. Four Women
    5. Lilac Wine
    6. Wild Is the Wind
    7. Black Is the Color of My True Love's Hair
    8. If I Should Lose You
    9. I'm Gonna Leave You
    10. Brown Eyed Handsome Man
    11. Take Me to the Water
    12. I'm Going Back Home
    13. He Ain't Comin' Home No More
    14. Come Ye
    15. I Love My Baby
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 84808

  • Credits

    Liner Note Author: Lois Wilson.
    This Canadian Gold compilation of some of Nina Simone's best work, comes from her seminal period with the Phillips label between 1964 and 1967. There are 31 cuts are collected over two discs, with all of the material beautifully remastered. This anthology begins with live performances of three of her best-known tunes, "I Loves You Porgy," "Don't Smoke in Bed," and "Mississippi Goddam," from her label debut, Nina Simone in Concert. The studio versions had been recorded for Sid Nathan's King imprint. These performances are indeed wonderful, but as she launches into the studio period, "Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood" smolders with sorrow, anger, and a kind of world weariness that had not been heard before and has seldom been heard since. Other signature tunes are included. "I Put a Spell on You," "Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out," "Strange Fruit," "Be My Husband," "Wild Is the Wind," "Take Me to the Water," "I Love My Baby," and "I'm Gonna Leave You" are interspersed with live versions of "Black Is the Color of My True Love's Hair," "The Other Woman," "Images," and "My Baby Just Cares for Me." Despite the excellence of the collection, and though it contains cuts form seven of her best recordings, this is not definitive -- no single-label collection is. RCA's Anthology, another double-disc, cross-licenses a bit more, and Legacy's three-disc Legends box (another import) does the same. Simone's earlier recordings have all been reissued and remastered by UMG as well -- they own the rights to the King recordings. But the domestic Anthology on RCA and this relatively inexpensive Canadian Gold collection remain the best of what is relatively inexpensive with great selection and great sound. ~ Thom Jurek

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $11.26
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for