CD Lady in Autumn: The Best of the Verve Years (CD 252950),
back to browsing

Lady in Autumn: The Best of the Verve Years

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Body and Soul
    2. Strange Fruit
    3. Trav'lin' Light
    4. All of Me
    5. No Greater Love, (There Is)
    6. I Cover the Waterfront
    7. These Foolish Things (Remind Me of You)
    8. Tenderly
    9. Autumn in New York
    10. My Man
    11. Stormy Weather
    12. Yesterdays
    13. He's Funny That Way, (I Got a Man Crazy For Me)
    14. What a Little Moonlight Can Do
    15. I Cried For You (Now It's Your Turn to Cry Over Me)
    16. Too Marvelous For Words
    17. I Wished on the Moon
    18. I Don't Want to Cry Anymore
    19. Prelude to a Kiss
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Nice Work If You Can Get It
    2. Come Rain or Come Shine
    3. What's New?
    4. God Bless the Child
    5. Do Nothin' till You Hear From Me
    6. April in Paris
    7. Lady Sings the Blues
    8. Don't Explain
    9. Fine and Mellow
    10. I Didn't Know What Time It Was
    11. Stars Fell on Alabama
    12. One For My Baby (And One More For the Road)
    13. Gee Baby, Ain't I Good to You
    14. Lover Man (Oh, Where Can You Be?)
    15. All the Way
    16. Don't Worry 'Bout Me
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 849 434

  • Credits

    LADY IN AUTUMN: BEST OF THE VERVE YEARS comes with a 32 page booklet including rare photos.
    Personnel includes: Billie Holiday (vocals); Ray Ellis (conductor); Benny Carter, Gene Quill (alto saxophone); Lester Young, Coleman Hawkins, Flip Phillips, Paul Quinichette, Budd Johnson, Ben Webster, Al Cohn (tenor saxophone); Buck Clayton, Charlie Shavers, Joe Newman, "Sweets" Edison, Roy Eldridge (trumpet); Tommy Turk (trombone); Tony Scott (clarinet, piano); Jimmy Rowles (piano, celesta); Oscar Peterson (piano, organ); Milt Raskin, Bobby Tucker, Mal Waldron, Wynton Kelly (piano); Hank Jones (celesta); Freddie Green, Barney Kessel, Herb Ellis, Kenny Burrell (guitar); Red Callender, Ray Brown, Milt Hinton, Red Mitchell (bass); Alvin Stoller, J.C. Heard, Ed Shaughnessy, Chico Hamilton, Cozy Cole, Larry Bunker (drums).
    Producers include: Norman Granz.
    Compilation producer: Joel E. Siegel.
    Recorded between 1946 and 1959. Includes liner notes by Joel E. Siegel.
    Digitally remastered by Dennis Drake, Andrew Nicholas, Thomas Ruff and Mark Wilder (PolyGram Studios) and Gert Van Hoeyen (PolyGram, The Netherlands).
    Without question the greatest jazz singer there has ever been (or will ever be), Holiday's unmistakable sound, her inimitable phrasing, her faultless sense of what was right, helped mould an artist unique in the history of popular music. In the early years her joyous, youthful voice was backed by soloists of the calibre of Buck Clayton, her close friend Lester Young, and her ideal arranger, pianist Teddy Wilson. Towards the end of her life her voice was a flaking, fractured caricature of itself but her commanding artistry and musical integrity lent dignity and poignancy to her recordings.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $21.66
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for