CD Miss Wonderful [Box] (CD 1099043),
back to browsing

Miss Wonderful [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Ain't Goin' No Place
    2. That Old Feeling
    3. Baby (Is What He Calls Me)
    4. Waitin' for the Train to Come In
    5. I'm Glad I Waited for You
    6. I Don't Know Enough About You
    7. Linger in My Arms a Little Longer, Baby
    8. It's a Good Day
    9. Nightingale Can Sing the Blues, A
    10. It's All Over Now
    11. Aren't You Kind of Glad We Did?
    12. She Didn't Say Yes
    13. Birmingham Jail
    14. It's Lovin' Time
    15. Everything's Movin' Too Fast
    16. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
    17. Somebody Loves Me
    18. Chi-Baba, Chi-Baba (My Bambino Go to Sleep)
    19. It Takes a Long, Long Train with a Red Caboose
    20. Just an Old Love of Mine
    21. There'll Be Some Changes Made
    22. I'll Dance at Your Wedding
    23. Sugar (That Sugar Baby O'Mine)
    24. Golden Earrings
    25. I Can't Give You Anything but Love
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Talkin' to Myself About You
    2. Why Don't You Do Right?
    3. 'Deed I Do
    4. Hold Me
    5. Them There Eyes
    6. Baby Don't Be Mad at Me
    7. Everybody Loves Somebody
    8. Laroo, Laroo, Lilli Bolero
    9. Caramba! It's the Samba
    10. Maana (Is Soon Enough for Me)
    11. All Dressed Up with a Broken Heart
    12. While We're Young
    13. For Every Man There's a Woman
    14. Just a Shade on the Blue Side
    15. Bubble-Loo, Bubble-Loo
    16. Don't Smoke in Bed
    17. Please Love Me Tonight
    18. Bali Ha'i
    19. I'm Gonna Wash That Man Right Out of My Hair
    20. Riders in the Sky (A Cowboy Legend)
    21. Crazy He Calls Me
    22. Coney Island
    23. Got the Gate on the Golden Gate
    24. Old Master Painter, The
    25. Cannonball Express
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Show Me the Way to Get Out of This World ('Cause That's Where ...)
    2. Lover Come Back to Me
    3. I've Had My Moments
    4. I Should Care
    5. Someday Sweetheart
    6. September in the Rain
    7. That Old Gang of Mine
    8. Nice Work If You Can Get It
    9. I'm Beginning to See the Light
    10. Gone with the Wind
    11. Don't Blame Me
    12. Baby Won't You Please Come Home?
    13. My Last Affair
    14. I'm Confessin'
    15. Where Are You?
    16. (When I Dance with You) I Get Ideas
    17. Don't Fan the Flame
    18. Forgive Me
    19. Be Anything (But Be Mine)
    20. I'm Glad There Is You
    21. You Go to My Head
    22. Just One of Those Things
    23. Lover
    24. Sans Souci
    25. River, River
    26. Go You Where You Go
    0. DISC 4:
    1. That's Him Over There
    2. I Hear the Music Now
    3. This Is a Very Special Day
    4. Sorry Baby, You Let My Love Get Cold
    5. I've Got You Under My Skin
    6. I Didn't Know What Time It Was
    7. Love Me or Leave Me
    8. Easy Living
    9. Woman Alone with the Blues, A
    10. My Heart Belongs to Daddy
    11. Black Coffee
    12. When the World Was Young
    13. Baubles, Bangles and Beads
    14. Johnny Guitar
    15. Autumn in Rome
    16. Love You Didn't Do Right by Me
    17. Gypsy with Fire in His Shoes, The
    18. Let Me Go Lover
    19. What Can I Say After I Say I'm Sorry
    20. I'm Gonna Meet My Sweetie Now
    21. Oh, Didn't He Ramble
    22. Sugar
    23. Somebody Loves Me
    24. I Never Knew
    25. Bye Bye Blackbird
    26. He Needs Me
    27. Sing a Rainbow
    28. Me
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 108

  • Credits
    ProducerJoop Visser (Compilation)

    Personnel: Peggy Lee (vocals); Ginny O'Connor, Bernie Parke, Les Baxter, Mel Torm (vocals); Dave Barbour, Dick McDonough, Jack Lesberg , Art Ryerson, Al Hendrickson, Allan Reuss, Nappy Lamare, Sammy Davis, Jr., Sid Feller, Laurindo Almeida (guitar); Kathryn Tompson (harp); Mischa Russell, Henry Hill , Felix Slatkin, Lou Raderman, Harry Bluestone (violin); Cy Bernard, Eleanor Slatkin (cello); Victor Young & His Singing Strings (strings); Heine Beau (clarinet, saxophone); Matty Matlock, Barney Bigard, Benny Goodman (clarinet); Jules Kinsler (reeds, saxophone); Jules Jacobs, Bob Lawson, Skeets Herfurt (reeds); Jules Jacob, John Hacker, Maurice Stein, Art Drelinger, Harry Lawson , Jack Greenberg, Milt Yaner (saxophone); Paul McLarand, Jack Dumont, Les Robinson (alto saxophone); Herbie Haymer (tenor saxophone); Uan Rasey, Conrad Gozzo , Joe Triscari, Pete Candoli, Ray Linn, Shorty Sherock, John McClanian Best Jr., Billy May, Zeke Zarchy, Bernie Privin, Buck Clayton (trumpet); John Graas, Sinclair Lott (French horn); Francis L. "Joe" Howard, Eddie Kusby, Lou McGarity, Si Zentner, Warren Covington, Buddy Morrow (trombone); Pete Johnson & His Boogie Woogie Boys , John Richard Lewis, Buddy Neil, Don Ferris, Jimmy Rowles, Milt Raskin, Bernie Leighton, Mel Powell, Buddy Cole (piano); Ralph Hensel (vibraphone, xylophone); Red Norvo (vibraphone); Harry Jaeger, Frank Guerrero, Ed Shaugnessy, Billy Exner, Nick Fatool, Irving Cottler (drums).
    Audio Remasterer: Peter Rynston.
    Liner Note Author: Joop Visser.
    Recording information: Hollywood, CA (01/07/1944-06/03/1955); Los Angeles, CA (01/07/1944-06/03/1955); New York, NY (01/07/1944-06/03/1955).
    Arrangers: Heine Beau; Dave Barbour; Bill May; Gordon Jenkins; Harold Mooney; Neal Hefti; Billy May.
    This is a wonderful four-disc collection of tracks from Peggy Lee's first solo stint with Capitol Records in the mid- to late-1940s, shortly after she left her spot as a singer with Benny Goodman's band in 1943, and her early sides for Decca Records, who signed her in 1952. While many would argue that her best work was done a decade later during her second go-round with Capitol, the selections here (many of them done with husband Dave Barbour and his orchestra) show an assured vocalist with a firm understanding of the pop side of jazz. Among the classic highlights included are her out-of-the-gate hit for Capitol, "Waiting for the Train to Come In," the 1948 smash "Maana," "Golden Earrings," "Don't Smoke in Bed," "Black Coffee," and a stunning reading of "I've Got You Under My Skin." "Show Me the Way to Get Out of This World" (which leads off the third disc here) is a particular delight, with Lee's smooth phrasing sliding and descending effortlessly through the dwindling syllables of the chorus like a surfer shooting a rapids: "Show me the way to get out of this world/because that's where/everything is." Miss Wonderful is four discs and 104 tracks of cool, crafty, and undeniably sultry vocals by a masterfully nuanced singer. ~ Steve Leggett

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $17.43
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for