CD Nina Simone in Concert [Remaster] (CD 869683),
back to browsing

Nina Simone in Concert [Remaster]

  • 1. I Loves You, Porgy
    2. Plain Gold Ring
    3. Pirate Jenny
    4. Old Jim Crow
    5. Don't Smoke in Bed
    6. Go Limp
    7. Mississippi Goddamn
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 0006007

  • Credits
    ProducerHal Mooney

    Personnel: Nina Simone (vocals, piano); Rudy Stevenson (guitar); Lisle Atkinson (upright bass); Bobby Hamilton (drums).
    This is probably the most personal album that Simone issued during her stay on Philips in the mid-'60s. On most of her studio sessions, she worked with orchestration that either enhanced her material tastefully or smothered her, and she tackled an astonishingly wide range of material that, while admirably eclectic, made for uneven listening. Here, the singer and pianist is backed by a spare, jazzy quartet, and some of the songs rank among her most socially conscious declarations of African-American pride: "Old Jim Crow," "Pirate Jenny," "Go Limp," and, especially, "Mississippi Goddam" were some of the most forthright musical reflections of the Civil Rights movement to be found at the time. In a more traditional vein, she also reprises her hit "I Loves You, Porgy" and the jazz ballad "Don't Smoke in Bed." This LP was combined with the 1965 album I Put a Spell on You on a CD reissue. ~ Richie Unterberger

  • Critic Reviews
    No Depression (p.112) - "Simone reasserted music as protest, in the strongest sense of the word....As essential to any record collection as A LOVE SUPREME or STICKY FINGERS."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $9.02
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for