CD Romance on Film/Romance on Broadway (CD 107055),
back to browsing

Romance on Film/Romance on Broadway

    1. More I See You, The
    2. Second Time Around, The
    3. As Time Goes By
    4. Isn't It Romantic
    5. All the Way
    6. Something's Gotta Give
    7. Way You Look Tonight, The
    8. Long Ago and Far Away
    9. When I Fall In Love / My Foolish Heart
    10. How Do You Keep the Music Playing?
    1. Always
    2. I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face
    3. If This Isn't Love
    4. They Say It's Wonderful
    5. I've Never Been in Love Before
    6. As Long as She Needs Me
    7. Song Is You, The
    8. Darn That Dream
    9. Best Things in Life Are Free, The
    10. My Funny Valentine
    11. Taking a Chance on Love
    12. Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 901

  • Credits
    EngineerLeslie Ann Jones

    Personnel: Michael Feinstein (vocals, piano); Alan Broadbent, Page Cavanaugh, Marian McPartland, John Oddo (piano); Dan Block (alto & tenor saxophones); Gary Foster (alto saxophone, flute, clarinet); Mark Vinci (tenor saxophone, flute, clarinet); George Rabbai (trumpet, flugelhorn); Warren Vache (clarinet); Jay Leonhart, Chuck Berghofer (bass); Joe Cocuzzo, Peter Erskine (drums).
    Producers: Allen Sviridoff, Leslie Ann Jones.
    Recorded at Feinstein's, The Regency Hotel, New York, New York from April 18-22, 2000; Clinton Recording Studios, New York, New York on June 12, 2000; Capitol Studios, Hollywood, California from June 21-23, 2000. Includes liner notes by Michael Feinstein.
    All tracks have been digitally mastered using HDCD technology.
    ROMANCE ON FILM/ROMANCE ON BROADWAY was nominated for the 2002 Grammy Award for Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album.
    Romantic inspiration can be found in many places, but song stylist Michael Feinstein finds his in motion picture film scores and Broadway musicals on his third Concord Jazz release. Romance on Film/Romance on Broadway is a two-CD set filled with great romantic ballads such as "The More I See You," "The Second Time Around," "All the Way," and the enduring classic "When I Fall in Love." Feinstein's voice is alluring, sophisticated, and comfortable on this excellent collection of popular music that he interprets in so many heartfelt ways. He adds an additional set of lyrics written by Lorenz Hart on "Isn't It Romantic" that were never included in the original 1932 film Love Me Tonight. On the second disc, he places the emphasis on songs from Broadway musicals with the same sensitive phrasing, nuance, and romanticism. "I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face" is a harmonic masterpiece. His dreamy reminisces of the heroine from the landmark Broadway musical My Fair Lady also offers superb piano stylings from Alan Broadbent. One of the most romantic love songs on the collection is "As Long as She Needs Me." Feinstein's amorous interpretation of the lyrics reveals the true beauty of this great love song. Accompanied by such great musicians as Marian McPartland on piano, Bucky Pizzarelli on guitar, Gary Foster on alto saxophone, Peter Erskine on drums, and Chuck Berghofer on bass, among others, Michael Feinstein takes these songs to a different time and space that is sure to keep lovers of romantic ballads happy for some time to come. ~ Paula Edelstein

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $19.78
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for