CD Sings the Duke Ellington Song Book [3 discs] (CD 991198),
back to browsing

Sings the Duke Ellington Song Book [3 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Rockin' in Rhythm
    2. Drop Me Off in Harlem
    3. Day Dream
    4. Caravan
    5. Take the "A" Train
    6. I Ain't Got Nothin' But the Blues
    7. Clementine
    8. I Didn't Know About You
    9. I'm Beginning to See the Light
    10. Lost in Meditation
    11. Perdido
    12. Cotton Tail
    13. Do Nothin' till You Hear From Me
    14. Just a-Sittin' and a-Rockin'
    15. Solitude
    16. Rocks in My Bed
    17. Satin Doll
    18. Sophisticated Lady
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Just Squeeze Me (But Don't Tease Me)
    2. It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
    3. Azure
    4. I Let a Song Go Out of My Heart
    5. In a Sentimental Mood
    6. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
    7. Prelude to a Kiss
    8. Mood Indigo
    9. In a Mellow Tone
    10. Love You Madly
    11. Lush Life
    12. Squatty Roo
    13. I'm Just a Lucky So and So
    14. All to Soon
    15. Everything But You
    16. I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
    17. Bli-Blip
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Chelsea Bridge
    2. Portrait of Ella Fitzgerald
    3. E and D Blues, The (E For Ella, D For Duke)
    4. Chelsea Bridge - (take 1, rehearsal)
    5. Chelsea Bridge - (take 2, rehearsal)
    6. Chelsea Bridge - (take 3, rehearsal)
    7. Chelsea Bridge - (take 4, rehearsal)
    8. Chelsea Bridge - (take 5, rehearsal)
    9. Chelsea Bridge - (take 6, rehearsal)
    10. Chelsea Bridge - (take 7, rehearsal)
    11. Chelsea Bridge - (take 8, rehearsal)
    12. All Heart - (alternate take)
    13. All Heart - (take 1, complete take)
    14. All Heart - (take 2, complete take)
    15. All Heart - (take 3, complete take)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 559 248

  • Credits

    Contains over 40 songs and a 32 page booklet.
    Discs 1 and 2 contain all of the material on the 3-disc DUKE ELLINGTON SONG BOOK collection. Disc 3 features previously unreleased recordings of Ellington and Strayhorn rehearsing with Fitzgerald and the orchestra.
    Personnel includes: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Duke Ellington, Billy Strayhorn, Dizzy Gillespie, Herb Ellis, Clark Terry, Ben Webster, Harry Carney, Oscar Peterson, Johnny Hodges, Billy Strayhorn, Ray Brown, Paul Gonsalves.
    Recorded in Hollywood, California and New York, New York in 1956 and 1957. Includes essay by Patricia Willard.
    This is part of Verve's Master Edition series.
    THE COMPLETE DUKE ELLINGTON SONGBOOK is a three-disc set containing all 38 songs recorded during the sessions for the original vinyl release of THE DUKE ELLINGTON SONGBOOK in 1956. Produced by the legendary Norman Granz, the sessions are simply remarkable, as they capture Fitzgerald at the height of her powers backed by the classic mid-'50s lineup of Ellington's orchestra, featuring Paul Gonsalves, Barney Kessel, and Ben Webster. Pianist extraordinaire Oscar Peterson even sits in. The songs are exquisite, of course. Duke Ellington and his musical partner Billy Strayhorn were possibly the finest songwriters in jazz history, and every track here is a classic. In particular, these renditions of "Prelude to a Kiss," "Don't Get Around Much Anymore," and "Lush Life" may be the definitive versions. This set is essential for all Fitzgerald and Ellington fans.

  • Critic Reviews
    Down Beat (5/15/58) - 5 Stars - Excellent - "...She seems wholly free, soaring, and swooping with the band....An absolute must in any library..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $9,999.00
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for