CD Sings the Harold Arlen Song Book [Remaster] (CD 991366),
back to browsing

Sings the Harold Arlen Song Book [Remaster]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Blues in the Night
    2. Let's Fall in Love
    3. Stormy Weather
    4. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
    5. My Shining Hour
    6. Hooray for Love
    7. This Time the Dream's on Me
    8. That Old Black Magic
    9. I've Got the World on a String
    10. Let's Take a Walk Around the Block
    11. Ill Wind
    12. Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive
    0. DISC 2:
    1. When the Sun Comes Out
    2. Come Rain or Come Shine
    3. As Long as I Live
    4. Happiness Is a Thing Called Joe
    5. It's Only a Paper Moon
    6. Man That Got Away, The
    7. One for My Baby (And One More for the Road)
    8. It Was Written in the Stars
    9. Get Happy
    10. I Gotta Right to Sing the Blues
    11. Out of This World
    12. Over the Rainbow
    13. Ding-Dong! The Witch Is Dead
    14. Sing My Heart
    15. Let's Take a Walk Around the Block - (alternate take)
    16. Sing My Heart - (alternate take)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 589108

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Billy May (arranger, conductor); Ted Nash, Benny Carter (alto saxophone); Plas Johnson (tenor saxophone); Chuck Gentry (baritone saxophone); Don Fagerquist, Frank Beach,
    Conrad Gozzo, Joseph Triscari (trumpet); Milt Bernhart, Dick Nash, Edward Kusby, Richard Noel (trombone); George Roberts (bass trombone); Justin Gordon, Wilbur Schwartz, Henry Beau, Jules Jacobs (woodwinds); Emil Richards (vibraphone); Paul Smith. Lou Levy (piano); John Collins, Al Hendrickson, Herb Ellis (guitar); Joe Mondragon, Wilfred Middlebrooks (bass); Alvin Stoller (drums).
    Producer: Norman Granz.
    Reissue producer: Bryan Koniarz.
    Recorded At Capitol Records and Radio Recorders Annex, Hollywood, California in August 1960 & January 1961. Originally released on Verve (4046). Includes original liner notes by Edward Jablonski and reissue liner notes by Doug Ramsey.
    Digitally remastered by Suha Gur & Andrew Nicholas (PolyGram Studios).
    Personnel: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Herb Ellis, Al Hendrickson (guitar); Veryle Brilhart (harp); Gerald Vinci, Mischa Russell, Erno Neufeld, Benny Gill, Jacques Gasselin, Lou Raderman, Murray Kellner, Joe Stepansky, Dan Lube, Marshall Sosson, Israel Baker, Nathan Ross (violin); Paul Robyn, Alvin Dinkin, Virginia Majewski (viola); Armand Karpoff, Edgar Lustgarten, Eleanor Slatkin, Ray Kramer (cello); Jules Jacob, Henry Beau, Justin Gordon, Wilbur Schwartz (woodwinds); Benny Carter (alto saxophone); Plas Johnson (tenor saxophone); Conrad Gozzo , Don Fagerquist, Frank Beach (trumpet); Milt Bernhart, Richard L. Noel, Eddie Kusby (trombone); George Roberts (bass trombone); Paul Andrew Smith, Lou Levy (piano); Emil Richards (vibraphone); Alvin Stoller (drums).
    Liner Note Authors: Edward Jablonski; Doug Ramsey.
    Recording information: Capitol Records, Los Angeles, CA (08/01/1960-01/14/1961); Radio Recorders Annex, Hollywood, CA (08/01/1960-01/14/1961).
    Photographers: Phil Stern; Herman Leonard.
    Arrangers: Walter Sheets; Billy May.
    Ella Fitzgerald's idea to sing the songbooks of major writers proved smart, savvy, and artful. By the time she began to record Sings the Harold Arlen Song Book in 1960, she had sung the songbooks of Duke Ellington, Rodgers & Hart, and Irving Berlin. This relaxed and tastefully arranged set showcases Fitzgerald in her prime, confidently engaging 28 of Arlen's best songs. Familiar pieces like "One for My Baby" and "That Old Black Magic" make appearances, along with all-time classics like "Stormy Weather" and "Over the Rainbow." On this latter tune, she adds the front verses, an appealing addition that few will be familiar with. Billy May's orchestra lays down a quiet mix of horns and strings that perfectly supports Fitzgerald on songs like "When the Sun Comes Out" and "Happiness Is a Thing Called Joe." Four bonus tracks, including two alternative cuts, spice up the package. A particular oddity, "Ding Dong! The Witch Is Dead," converts surprisingly well into big-band jazz. The attractive CD set also includes the original album cover, an outline of a face drawn by Henri Matisse. Sings the Harold Alden Song Book is an exquisite album, a classic in vocal jazz, and one of Fitzgerald's best recordings. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford Jr.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $14.39
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for