CD Ted Keegan Sings (CD 862496),
back to browsing

Ted Keegan Sings

  • 1. On the Street Where You Live
    2. Sit Down You're Rockin' the Boat
    3. Being Alive
    4. Music of the Night, The
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 142

  • Credits

    Since his Broadway debut in the musical Sweeney Todd, singer Ted Keegan has appeared in a variety of roles for the musical stage, not the least of which was as the deformed musician in the Phantom of the Opera. For his first solo album, Keegan understandably sticks with what he knows best, songs from musical plays, favoring those by Fred Ebb and John Kander. While there are some familiar songs present, Keegan dwells mostly on songs which may be from big musicals, but not necessarily the hits of the show. One of these is a rollicking "Sit Down You're Rockin' the Boat," the Salvation Army thumper from Guys and Dolls. There are also songs from musicals neither which were smashes nor are especially remembered for any particular song, such as "A Quiet Thing" delivered by Keegan in a heartfelt manner accompanied by the acoustic guitar of Michael Holland. Keegan, with his powerful but flexible and expressive voice, throws himself completely into each song on this distinctive play list, irrespective of origin or notoriety. The result is that this album has some of the attributes usually reserved for a classical lieder recital. The way the singer shapes each of the songs, giving each tune a separate set of characteristics rather than trying to pull all of them under a single performing umbrella, also says much about why Keegan has been so successful in a wide variety of roles for the musical stage. He is sadly apologetic and poignant on "I Don't Remember You" and floats on top of Steve Kenyon's flute on "Some Girls." One of the fun items is an old-time music hall rendition of "Sara Lee." Keegan is pure entertainer through and through and this album reflects that happy condition. Recommended. ~ Dave Nathan

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $14.41
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for