CD That's All! [081227427825] (CD 532577),
back to browsing

That's All! [081227427825]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Ain't I
    2. With a Song in My Heart
    3. Another Spring
    4. Any Place I Hang My Hat Is Home
    5. Rock-A-Bye Your Baby With a Dixie Melody - (previously unreleased)
    6. Monologue
    7. Medley: I've Got You Under My Skin/What's a Nice Kid Like You Doing in: I've Got You Under My Skin / What's A Nice Kid Like You Doing In A Place Like This / Dang Me / Big Bad John / The Girl From Ipanema / Ugly Chile / On The Road To Mandalay / What'
    8. Lady Is a Tramp, The
    9. Medley: Lonesome Road/Gonna Build a Mountain/Yes I Can/I Want to ...: Lonesome Road / Gonna Build A Mountain / Yes I Can / I Want To Be With You / Too Close For Comfort / Something's Gotta Give / Hey There
    10. My Mother the Car - (previously unreleased)
    0. DISC 2:
    1. On a Clear Day (You Can See Forever)
    2. Birth of the Blues
    3. As Long as She Needs Me
    4. Bye Bye Blackbird
    5. One for My Baby (And One More for the Road)
    6. Where or When
    7. Chicago
    8. You're Nobody 'Til Somebody Loves You
    9. Without a Song
    10. What Kind of Fool Am I?
    11. Let's Keep Swinging
    12. Sweet Beginning
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 74278

  • Credits
    EngineerEddie Brackett

    Personnel includes: Sammy Davis Jr. (vocals); John DeRose (guitar); Reunald Jones (trumpet); Benny Powell (trombone); George Rhodes (piano); Aaron Bell (bass); Michael Silva, Buddy Rich (drums).
    Producer: Jimmy Bowen.
    Reissue producer: Gregg Geller.
    Recorded live at The Sands Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada. Includes liner notes by Eliot Teagle.
    Digitally remastered by Lee Herschberg.
    Personnel: Buddy Rich (vocals); John Derose (guitar); Reunald Jones (trumpet); Benny Powell (trombone); George Rhodes (piano); Michael Silva (drums).
    Liner Note Author: Jeff Simon.
    Recording information: The Copa Room, Las Vegas, NV (1965).
    Photographer: Steve Banks.
    That's All (1967) captures the irrepressible Sammy Davis, Jr. (vocals) at the Copa Room of the Sands Hotel in Las Vegas, NV, June 1966. This marks Davis' return to the casinos after a two-year stint in the play Golden Boy had made him a fixture on Broadway. However, it is safe to say that judging by the strength of his performance, it was just as if he had never been gone. During his absence rock & roll had taken much of the attention away from the Rat Pack-era artists, yet there is still an effervescence and enduring quality to Davis' comparatively "old school" one-man show. Under the direction of George Rhodes (conductor/piano) and joined by the Antonio Morelli Orchestra, Davis turns in exceptional readings of familiar favorites such as "The Lady Is a Tramp," "As Long as She Needs Me," "Birth of the Blues," "Where or When," and "What Kind of Fool Am I." These are offered alongside the freshly arranged and jam-packed medleys stringing together the pop standards "I've Got You Under My Skin" and "On the Road to Mandalay" with an infusion of newer selections. Among them are covers ranging from Roger Miller's "Dang Me," the scintillating "Girl From Impanena," a rousing rendition of Brother Ray Charles' "What'd I Say," and Jimmy Dean's "Big Bad John" -- the latter having actually been a part of Davis' live repertoire for several years at this point. One of the nonmusical highlights is the nearly ten-minute "Monologue" reinforcing the political incorrectness of the period and proving beyond reproach the essence of Davis' superior timing and seemingly effortless rapport with his audience. In 2001 That's All was expanded onto a double-CD set that included the previously unavailable "Rock-a-Bye Your Baby With a Dixie Melody" and the theme song to "My Mother the Car." Collectors and earnest enthusiasts should also note The Sounds of '66 (1966), a companion release with the Buddy Rich Big Band combo backing Davis during the same June of 1966 run. Either or both titles should be considered mandatory for interested parties. ~ Lindsay Planer

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (9/01, p.130) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...Songs are interspersed with lite audience banter, and he never could resist the kind of cheesy medley that comprised the countless variations on popular hits of the day. But it remains delightful listening..."
    Uncut (11/01, p.122) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...There's as much here about early Sixties America as in any Ellroy novel or Dylan LP..."
    Mojo (Publisher) (10/01, p.134) - "...Nothing lit Sammy's fire like an audience, so when he rips into a West Side Story medley accompanied only by bongos - all open-throat, perfect pitch and thrilling presence - you're convinced he's the greatest pop singer of the 20th century..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $18.96
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for