CD The Art of Romance [Tony Bennett] [886974881728] (CD 4676684),
back to browsing

The Art of Romance [Tony Bennett] [886974881728]

  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 748817

  • Credits

    Few singers embody the essence of swing and gentility like Tony Bennett. On this 2004 release, produced by the famed Phil Ramone, Bennett teams up with music director and pianist Lee Musiker, and together they create an album that nimbly revolves around themes of love.
    Rich orchestral arrangements by Johnny Mandel, Musiker, and others augment Bennett's quartet. Made up of mostly dreamy ballads and light, mid-tempo pieces, THE ART OF ROMANCE focuses on stellar standards and other lesser-known tunes that speak of love's rapture and its loss. The charmingly sentimental songs "I Remember You" and "Don't Like Goodbyes" are poignant works that reinforce Bennett's ability (at age 78) to really get inside of a lyric and make it his own. Each heartrending piece on this record sees Bennett crooning over lush, legato strings, gentle piano musings, and whispery brushwork. "Being Alive" is one exception; this tune explodes into a rollicking jazz samba and highlights not only drummer Clayton Cameron, but also conga player Candido Camero and the bebop stylings of alto saxophonist Phil Woods.

  • Critic Reviews
    Uncut (p.148) - 4 stars out of 5 - "impeccable orchestration, tinkling ivories, whispering brushes and a sax that's both sleazy and classy. Gliding across it all is the man's exquisite phrasing."
    JazzTimes (p.65) - "[T]hese 11 tracks nestle Bennett's beautifully aged voice, dark and smooth as the rarest of vintage ports, in the soft embrace of pianist Lee Musiker, bassist Paul Langosch, drummer Clayton Cameron and guitarist Gray Sargent."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $6.36
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for