CD The Diva Series [Billie Holiday] (CD 292372),
back to browsing

The Diva Series [Billie Holiday]

  • 1. Them There Eyes
    2. Gimme a Pigfoot (And a Bottle of Beer)
    3. Easy Living
    4. Don't Explain
    5. Billie's Blues
    6. Love Me or Leave Me
    7. Just One of Those Things
    8. Good Morning Heartache
    9. Speak Low
    10. All or Nothing at All
    11. Strange Fruit
    12. God Bless the Child
    13. I Wished on the Moon
    14. What a Little Moonlight Can Do
    15. Fine and Mellow
    16. Lady Sings the Blues
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 065204

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Billie Holiday (vocals); George Dorsey, Johnny Mince (alto saxophone); Budd Johnson, Freddie Williams (tenor saxophone); Eddie Barefield (baritone saxophone, clarinet); Tony Faso, Bernie Privin, Dick Vance, Harry "Sweets" Edison (trumpet); Oscar Peterson (piano); Tiny Grimes (guitar); Wallace Bishop (drums); Toots Camarata.
    Producers: Milt Gabler, Norman Granz, Tony Scott.
    Compilation producer: Bryan Koniarz.
    Recorded between 1939 & 1957. Includes liner notes by Will Friedwald.
    This is part of Verve's Diva Series.
    Personnel: Everett Barksdale, Daniel Perry, Herb Ellis, Kenny Burrell, Tiny Grimes, Barney Kessel, Jimmy McLin (guitar); Leo Kruczek, Charles Jaffe, Frank Siefiels, George Serloff, Morris Lefkowitz (violin); Armand Karpoff (viola); Bill Stegmeyer (clarinet, alto saxophone); Eddie Barefield (clarinet, baritone saxophone); Tony Scott (clarinet); Pete Clark, Johnny Mince, Tab Smith, Toots Mondello, Willie Smith, Al Klink, George Dorsey (alto saxophone); Stanley Payne, Freddie Williams , Kenneth Hollon, Armand Camgros, Hank Ross , Al Cohn, Paul Quinichette, Ben Webster, Art Drellinger, Budd Johnson (tenor saxophone); Dave McRae , Stan Webb (baritone saxophone); Tony Faso, Frankie Newton, Harry "Sweets" Edison, Joe Guy, Shad Collins, Billy Butterfield, Bobby Williams, Dick Vance, Bernie Privin, Buck Clayton, Charlie Shavers (trumpet); George Stevenson , Henderson Chambers, Mort Bullman (trombone); Eddie Heywood, Carl Drinkard, Horace Henderson, Jimmy Rowles, Oscar Peterson, Sammy Benskin, Sonny White, Wynton Kelly, Bobby Tucker (piano); Chico Hamilton, Cozy Cole, Lenny McBrowne, Eddie Dougherty, Alvin Stoller, Big Sid Catlett, Specs Powell, Ed Shaughnessy, Wallace Bishop, Bunny Shawker (drums).
    Liner Note Author: Will Friedwald.
    Illustrator: Gary Kelley.
    Photographer: Chuck Stewart.
    Arrangers: Eddie Heywood; Tony Scott ; Toots Camarata.
    Part of Verve's Diva Series of compilations, this Billie Holiday collection is by no means the definitive account of her career -- Columbia's Lady Day: The Best of Billie Holiday takes that honor. That said, it is still a great introduction to the vocalist's singular and influential style. There is a timely flow to the track listing on most of the Diva Series albums, and this collection is no exception. Included are such landmark recordings as "Don't Explain," "God Bless the Child," and Holiday's haunting signature tune, "Strange Fruit." Longtime Holiday fanatics will most likely already have these recordings, but for newly interested listeners, at over 14 tracks, this competes well with other similar single-disc collections. ~ Matt Collar

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.61
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for