CD The Essential George Gershwin (CD 971489),
back to browsing

The Essential George Gershwin

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Prelude No. 2 For Piano
    2. I Got Rhythm
    3. Oh Lady, Be Good
    4. Summertime
    5. Nice Work If You Can Get It
    6. They Can't Take That Away From Me
    7. Swanee
    8. Liza
    9. Someone to Watch Over Me
    10. 'S Wonderful
    11. Do It Again
    12. Soon
    13. Fascinatin' Rhythm / Someone To Watch Over Me
    14. Man I Love, The
    15. Let's Call the Whole Thing Off
    16. Love Is Here to Stay
    17. How Long Has This Been Going On?
    18. Blues
    19. But Not For Me
    20. Foggy Day, A
    21. I'll Build a Stairway to Paradise
    22. Third Movement - (Allegro Agitato)
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Of Thee I Sing Overture
    2. They All Laughed
    3. Of Thee I Sing
    4. Promenade (Walking the Dog)
    5. I've Got a Crush on You
    6. Somebody Loves Me
    7. Love Walked In / Embraceable You
    8. Mine
    9. Isn't It a Pity
    10. Introduction and Jazzbo Brown
    11. It Ain't Necessarily So
    12. Bess, You Is My Woman Now
    13. I Loves You, Porgy
    14. My Man's Gone Now
    15. There's a Boat Dat's Leavin' Soon For New York
    16. Who Cares?
    17. Rhapsody in Blue
    18. Strike up the Band
    19. Home Blues
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 89913

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: George Gershwin (piano); Michael Feinstein (vocals, piano); Rosemary Clooney, Tony Bennett, Frank Sinatra, Billie Holiday, Doris Day, Aretha Franklin, Sarah Vaughan, Al Jolson (vocals); Dick McDonough (guitar); Artie Shaw (clarinet); Lester Young (tenor saxophone); Miles Davis, Bunny Berigan (trumpet); Joe Bushkin (piano); Jo Jones (drums).
    Compilation producers: Michael Feinstein, Didier C. Deutsch.
    Includes liner notes by Tim Page and Diane Warren.
    This two-disc set features a wide variety of interpretations of one of the 20th century's best-known composers, George Gershwin, from Whispering Jack Smith's genteel rendering of "Funny Face" to a youthful Ella Fitzgerald performing "I Was Doing All Right," with the added bonus of a couple of performances from Gershwin himself, performing "Rhapsody in Blue" and "An American in Paris."

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.62
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for