CD The Essential Tony Bennett [Columbia/Legacy] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 971029),
back to browsing

The Essential Tony Bennett [Columbia/Legacy] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Because of You - (mono)
    2. Cold, Cold Heart - (mono)
    3. Blue Velvet - (mono)
    4. Rags to Riches - (mono)
    5. Stranger in Paradise - (mono)
    6. Sing You Sinners - (mono)
    7. Boulevard of Broken Dreams - (mono)
    8. Just in Time - (mono)
    9. It Amazes Me
    10. Love Look Away
    11. Firefly
    12. Put on a Happy Face
    13. Best Is Yet to Come, The
    14. Tender Is the Night
    15. Once Upon a Time
    16. I Left My Heart in San Francisco
    17. I Wanna Be Around
    18. For the Good Life
    19. This Is All I Ask
    20. When Joanna Loved Me
    21. Rules of the Road, The - (previously unreleased)
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Who Can I Turn to (When Nobody Needs Me)
    2. If I Ruled the World - (from "Pickwick")
    3. Fly Me to the Moon (In Other Words)
    4. Shadow of Your Smile, The - (from "The Sandpiper")
    5. Smile
    6. Very Thought of You, The
    7. For Once in My Life
    8. Yesterday I Heard the Rain
    9. My Favorite Things
    10. I Do Not Know a Day I Did Not Love You
    11. How Do You Keep the Music Playing?
    12. When Do the Bells Ring For Me?
    13. Night and Day
    14. Last Night When We Were Young
    15. Steppin' Out With My Baby
    16. It Don't Mean a Thing If It Ain't Got That Swing - (live)
    17. Mood Indigo
    18. Keep the Faith, Baby - (with k.d lang)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 86634

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Tony Bennett, k.d. Lang (vocals); Percy Faith, Ray Conniff, Frank DeVol, Ralph Burns, Marty Manning, Don Costa, Johnny Mandel, Torrie Zito, Robert Farnon (arranger, conduct); Al Cohn (tenor saxophone); Bobby Hackett (cornet); Jimmy Rowles, Tommy Flanagan (piano); Count Basie & His Orchestra; Ralph Sharon Trio.
    Producers include: Mitch Miller, Ernie Altschuler, Teo Macero, Danny Bennett,
    David Kahne.
    Compilation producers: Steve Berkowitz, Didier C. Deutsch.
    Recorded between 1951 & 2001.
    All tracks have been digitally remastered.
    It's almost shocking to realize that before this collection's release, the career of musical legend Tony Bennett had been extensively anthologized only in box-set format and never by a career-spanning two-disc compilation. Upon inspection, it seems like the ultimate no-brainer--pick some of the mainly highlights from this vocal sensation's 50-year career, put them in chronological order, and let the magic happen.
    Happen it does, as we're treated to gems from every phase of Bennett's oeuvre. Casual listeners may be surprised to learn that the '50s found Tony successfully reinventing Hank Williams's "Cold Cold Heart" alongside more customary fare such as signature song "Rags to Riches." No one will be shocked at the very necessary inclusion of the '60s comeback smash "I Left My Heart in San Francisco," but those who think of Bennett as an artifact belonging only to Sinatra's time will be educated by the subsequent material included here. From the sinuously jazzy "Steppin' Out with My Baby" to a moving take on the Elllington evergreen "Mood Indigo" and an album-closing duet with K.D. Lang, the more contemporary material here makes just as convincing a case as the earlier work for Bennett as THE living master of the Great American Songbook.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $19.69
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for