CD The Janet Lawson Quintet (CD 138054),
back to browsing

The Janet Lawson Quintet

  • 1. 'Round Midnight
    2. Jitterbug Waltz
    3. Sunday Afternoon
    4. Nothin' Like You
    5. Dreams Can Be
    6. In a Sentimental Mood
    7. Hot House
    8. Better Get Hit in Yo' Soul
    9. Out of This World
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): CD-1101

  • Credits

    This CD consists of the albums THE JANET LAWSON QUINTET and DREAMS CAN BE, originally released in 1981 & 1983 respectively.
    Janet Lawson Quintet: Janet Lawson (vocals, percussion); Roger Rosenberg (saxophone, flute); Bill O'Connell (piano); Ratzo B. Harris (bass); Jimmy Madison (drums).
    Producers: Jack Perricone, Bill Goodwin, Chris Fichera.
    Compilation producer: Jeannie Pool.
    One of the finest jazz singers to emerge in the late '70s, Janet Lawson has surprisingly only led two record sessions. A brilliant scatter and a consistently strong improviser, Lawson is joined on this 1980 LP by baritonist Roger Rosenberg (who also plays soprano and flute), pianist Bill O'Connell, bassist Ratzo Harris, and drummer Jimmy Madison. The highly appealing vocalist really digs into the six tunes, which include "Jitterbug Waltz," Blossom Dearie's "Sunday Afternoon," "'Round Midnight," and "So High." Lawson should be persuaded to record again. ~ Scott Yanow

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $17.32
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for