CD Afroholic..The Even Better Times [PA] (CD 1099519),
back to browsing

Afroholic..The Even Better Times [PA]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. I've Been Hustlin'
    2. West Y'All
    3. Hittin' Switches
    4. Airport
    5. Paranoid - (featuring 2 Zigg Zaggs)
    6. Keep on Limp'n
    7. I Drive Better Drunk
    8. Late at Night
    9. This Kind of Beat
    10. Dance Wit Me
    11. U Can Make It
    12. From Tha Ghetto
    13. F*** Tha Corporate World
    14. What If - (featuring E-40)
    15. From the Ghetto
    16. Sag Your Pants
    17. Wonderful Tonite
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Roll Your Windows Down
    2. Me & Kenny - (featuring DJ Mr Mixxx/Big Lucy)
    3. Let's Get High Tonight
    4. Gangsta Sound
    5. Leaving California
    6. Ghetto Memories
    7. Cali Swangin'
    8. On My Hustle - (featuring DJ Mr Mixxx/Big Lucy)
    9. 1988
    10. What If - (featuring E-40)
    11. Smoke 1
    12. Money (Ain't Everything)
    13. Major Beat - (reprise)
    14. Whack Rappers
    15. Whack Rappers II
    16. Me & Kenny
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 420

  • Credits

    The Afroman: Joseph Foreman.
    Additional personnel: E-40, Luc (rap vocals); Darrell Havard (keyboards, Chapman stick); Jody Stallone (drums); DJ Mr. Mixxx (turntables); The Two Zig Zags.
    Producers include: Joseph Foreman, Jim Thompson, David Hobbs, Rodney Ashford, Richard Lucas.
    The novelty success of Afroman's "Because I Got High" in 2001 was a commercial blessing for the underground rapper, but it wasn't a lasting success. When he returned in 2004 with his follow-up, Afroholic... The Even Better Times, he was no longer signed to Universal and enjoyed none of the benefits provided by major-label backing. He was an independent artist again, which is perhaps for the better (for both the artist and his fans). You see, Afroman is a one-man phenomenon: he writes his own songs, produces and engineers them, and markets them with his own website. He doesn't really need a major label. He can do it all himself, from the studio work to the live touring band he leads, and though he may not get a mass-market media push, he doesn't have to deal with major-label bureaucracy. He can release whatever music he likes, and he gets a much greater slice of the revenues. Such independence is the essence of Afroman and his music -- listening to Afroholic is like stepping into his own private world of warped West Coast rap parody. Since there is a whopping total of 33 songs here, and since they all sound fairly similar because they're all produced and rapped by Afroman, you can really get caught up in his little world, which seems to be shaped greatly by the similarly sly, rhetorically playful influences of E-40 and Too Short. Each of the songs here is like an extended skit. Afroman first lays down one of his patented aquatic basslines and some click-clattering drum programming, and then he delves into his comedy raps, many of which are plays on common topics (cars, weed, 40s, women, hustling, California, saggy pants) and many of which are interpolations (including those of "Where Everybody Knows Your Name," "Just My Imagination [Running Away with Me]," and "No Thing on Me"). Granted, the production is lo-fi and sparse, sounding not unlike mid- to late-'80s hip-hop (mostly 808 and synth in conjunction), and the humor can drag on, given the enormity of the album and its lack of guests (the appearance of E-40 on "What If" stands out refreshingly). Everything considered, however, Afroholic is an impressive accomplishment. Like a West Coast Biz Markie, Afroman is often clownish, but it's easy to see him for the diverse talent that he is. Plus, it's nice to hear the rare rapper who doesn't take himself too seriously. ~ Jason Birchmeier

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $19.15
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for