CD Cabbage Alley (CD 569770),
back to browsing

Cabbage Alley

  • 1. You've Got to Change (You've Got to Reform)
    2. Stay Away
    3. Birds
    4. Flower Song, The
    5. Soul Island
    6. Do the Dirt
    7. Smiling
    8. Lonesome and Unwanted People
    9. Gettin' Funkier All the Time
    10. Cabbage Alley
    11. Chug Chug Chug-A-Lug (Push and Shove) Part I - (previously unreleased, bonus track)
    12. Chug Chug Chug-A-Lug (Push and Shove) Part II - (previously unreleased, bonus track)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 6168

  • Credits

    The Meters: Arthur Neville (vocals, piano, organ, tambourine, cowbell); Leo Nocentelli (guitar, tambourine); George Porter Jr. (bass); Joseph Modeliste (drums, guiro, woodblock, cowbell).
    Additional personnel: Cyril Neville, Squirrel (congas).
    Producers: Allen Toussaint, Marshall Sehorn.
    Originally released on Reprise (2076). Includes liner notes by Bunny Matthews and Barry Hansen.
    Personnel: Leo Nocentelli (vocals, guitar, tambourine); Art Neville (vocals, piano, organ, keyboards, tambourine); Arthur "Red" Neville (vocals, piano, organ, cowbells, tambourine); Ziggy Modeliste (drums, cowbells, wood block); Cyril Neville, Squirell (congas).
    Liner Note Authors: Bunny Matthews; Barry Hansen.
    Recording information: Sea-Saint Stuidos, New Orleans, LA.
    When the Meters moved from their bankrupted indie label Josie to Warner Brothers for 1972's CABBAGE ALLEY, they shifted from funky instrumentals to soulful vocalizing. Leading the way to this new direction was guitarist Leo Nocentelli, who wrote or co-wrote most of these songs. True to Nocentelli's New Orleans origins, a spirit of jocular abandon winds its way throughout this album.
    Among the most notable examples are the chugging and infectious "Soul Island," inspired by a tour of the Caribbean, and the mid-tempo grit of a dance theme called "Do the Dirt." Elsewhere, Nocentelli's compositions include the psychedelic soul of "Stay Away," and "The Flower Song," a romantic instrumental tailor-made for a candlelit dinner. Altering this carefree atmosphere are a pair of consciousness-raising tracks: "You've Got to Change (You've Got to Reform)," and the Band-like poignancy of "Lonesome and Unwanted People," featuring keyboardist Art Neville's soulful vocals. Neville's contributions also include his cover of Neil Young's "Birds," and a rewrite of Professor Longhair's "Hey Now Baby" that doubles as the rollicking title track. "Chug Chug Chug-A-Lug (Push and Shove) Parts I & II" has also been added as a bonus track for this reissue.

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (8/00, p.120) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...Their 1st vocal album...'Lonesome' & 'Unwanted People' provided them with a vocal classic compared to their virtuoso instrumental ensemble groovin'..."
    Living Blues (5-6/01, pp.91-4) - "...An enjoyable and varied album that kept the New Orleans funk at the forefront....while displaying leanings towards rock..."
    Mojo (Publisher) (8/00, p.115) - "...An astute blend of social soul...and even a cover of Neil Young's 'Birds'..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.04
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for