CD Definitive Collection [2CD] (CD 1309416),
back to browsing

Definitive Collection [2CD]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Superstition
    2. Sir Duke
    3. I Wish
    4. Master Blaster (Jammin')
    5. Isn't She Lovely
    6. I Just Called to Say I Love You
    7. Ebony and Ivory
    8. As
    9. Never Had a Dream Come True
    10. I Was Made to Love Her
    11. Heaven Help Us All
    12. Overjoyed
    13. Lately
    14. For Your Love
    15. If You Really Love Me
    16. Higher Ground
    17. Do I Do
    18. Living for the City
    19. Part-Time Lover
    0. DISC 2:
    1. For Once in My Life
    2. Uptight (Everything's Alright)
    3. We Can Work It Out
    4. Signed, Sealed, Delivered I'm Yours
    5. Yester-Me, Yester-You, Yesterday
    6. I'm Wondering
    7. My Cherie Amour
    8. You Are the Sunshine of My Life
    9. I Don't Know Why (I Love You)
    10. Place in the Sun, A
    11. Blowin' in the Wind
    12. Send One Your Love
    13. Pastime Paradise
    14. I Ain't Gonna Stand for It
    15. Fingertips, Pts. 1-2
    16. Boogie on Reggae Woman
    17. You Haven't Done Nothin'
    18. He's Misstra Know It All
    19. Happy Birthday
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 0665022

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Stevie Wonder (vocals, various instruments); Luther Vandross (vocals); Malcolm Cecil, Robert Margouleff (programming); Gloria Barley, Lani Groves, Jim Gilstrap, The Jackson 5 (background vocals).
    Producers include: Berry Gordy, Henry Cosby, Clarence Paul, Stevie Wonder, William "Mickey" Stevenson.
    Compilation producers: Harry Weinger, Jeff Moskow.
    Recorded between 1963 & 1985.
    Includes liner notes by Scott Regan.
    Missing in action for much of the 1990s, Stevie Wonder is a living legend whose consistent creative output is sorely missed. THE DEFINITIVE COLLECTION provides a snapshot overview of Wonder's stellar legacy starting back in 1963 as a teen musical prodigy with the exuberant "Fingertips Part 2." This jubilant tune, showcasing Wonder's much-touted facility on the chromatic harmonica, is a powerful harbinger of things to come. Along the way are classics that find this Michigan native going from being a one-man Motown hit machine to a young artist whose vision eschewed singles-based sensibilities for album-long artistic statements.
    Wonder's '60s gems include "I Was Made to Love Her," "For Once in My Life," and "Signed, Sealed, Delivered I'm Yours." Of course, his '70s work is just as stunning, particularly socially conscious numbers like "Higher Ground" and "Living for the City." Equally stellar if less political are this legend's tributes to Duke Ellington ("Sir Duke"), Bob Marley ("Master Blaster [Jammin']"), and Caribbean music in general ("Boogie on Reggae Woman"). THE DEFINITIVE COLLECTION is an excellent primer for both die-hard fan and passing admirer of Stevie Wonder's genius.

  • Critic Reviews
    Uncut (2/04, p.86) - 4 stars out of 5 - "The cream of Stevie, cherry-picked here from a mightily impressive history, is rich with sunshine and peachy goodness."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.20
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for