CD Fancy Footwork [Chromeo] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 1314328),
back to browsing

Fancy Footwork [Chromeo] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Intro
    2. Tenderoni
    3. Fancy Footwoek
    4. Bonafied Lovin (Tough Guys)
    5. My Girl Is Calling Me (A Liar)
    6. Outta Sight
    7. Opening Up (Ce Soir On Danse)
    8. Momma's Boy
    9. Call Me Up
    10. Waiting 4 U
    11. 100%
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Needy Girl
    2. Rage!
    3. You're So Gangsta
    4. I Am Somebody - (featuring Chromeo)
    5. Tenderoni [MSTRKRFT Remix] - (remix)
    6. Fancy Footwork [Crookers Remix] - (remix)
    7. Needy Girl [Lifelike Remix] - (remix)
    8. Bonafied Lovin [Yuksek Remix] - (remix)
    9. Me & My Man [Whitey Vs. Chromeo Fly Whitey Remix] - (remix)
    10. You're So Gangsta [Playgroup Remix] - (remix)
    11. Destination Overdrive [DFA Remix] - (remix)
    12. Fancy Footwork [Laidback Luke Remix] - (remix)
    13. Bonafied Lovin [Jori Hulkkonen Remix] - (remix)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): VCA 80006-2

  • Credits

    The Montreal-based electro-funk duo of Dave 1 and P. Thugg, better known as Chromeo, first made a splash in 2004 with their retro-flavored debut, SHE'S IN CONTROL. Drawing upon their shared love of `80s pop-R&B and synthetic talk box-driven funk, their follow up, FANCY FOOTWORK, delves even further into retro kitsch, playfully resurrecting the innocence and exuberance of that bygone time. Similar dance music pundits may have revisited Reagan-era synthesizers to get that elusive "vintage" sound, but Chromeo practically ooze synthetic funk from every groove. If the ironically delivered sleaze of "Tenderoni" lyrically places tongue firmly in cheek, the intricately performed lead synth lines still demand to be taken seriously. Revealing a level of musicianship that belies the lightheartedness of their lyrics, FANCY FOOTWORK manages to combine the spirit of past funk flights-of-fancy with a fresh and witty modern-day perspective.

  • Critic Reviews
    Uncut (p.93) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[S]leek and highly finished, studiously retro electro-pop..."
    Alternative Press (p.183) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "This sophomore full-length wears its newly found voluptuousness well; even the extra layer of cheesy fat in the vocal department and yacht-rock guitar squeals go down easy."
    CMJ (p.41) - "[T]heir mirror-ball spinners are perfect late-night foot fodder."
    Vibe (p.74) - "FOOTWORK's array of cheese-ball synths, vocoder distortions, and earnest lyrics shimmer with the nostalgic poppiness of Club Nouveau or Wham!..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.86
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for