CD Fencewalk: The Anthology (CD 976997),
back to browsing

Fencewalk: The Anthology

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Mandrill
    2. Rollin' On
    3. Symphonic Revolution
    4. Peace and Love (Amani Na Mapenzi): Movement IV (Encounter)/Movement V (: Movement IV (Encounter) / Movement V (Beginning)
    5. Lord of the Golden Baboon
    6. Ape Is High
    7. Cohelo
    8. Git It All
    9. Children of the Sun
    10. I Refuse to Smile
    11. Kofijahm
    12. Hang Loose
    13. Fencewalk
    14. Hgalo
    15. Don't Mess with People
    16. Moroccan Nights
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Mango Meat
    2. Fat City Strut
    3. Love Song
    4. Positive Thing
    5. Road to Love
    6. Armadillo
    7. Khidja
    8. House of Wood
    9. Folks on a Hill
    10. Gilly Hines
    11. Can You Get It (Suzie Caesar)
    12. Funky Monkey
    13. Love One Another
    14. Too Late
    15. Echoes in My Mind
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 529666

  • Credits

    FENCEWALK: THE ANTHOLOGY includes songs from all five of the bands Polydor releases, MANDRILL, MANDRILL IS, COMPOSITE TRUTH, JUST OUTSIDE OF TOWN, and MANDRILLAND.
    Mandrill includes: Carlos D. Wilson (vocals, guitar, alto saxophone, trombone, flute, bass, congas, timbales, percussion); Omar Mesa, Doug Rodrigues, Joaquin Jessup (vocals, guitar, percussion); Ric Wilson (vocals, tenor saxophone, percussion); Louis Wilson (vocals, trumpet, flugelhorn, drums, congas, percussion); Claude "Coffee" Cave (vocals, piano, electric piano, clavinet, organ, synthesizer, keyboards, vibraphone, percussion); Wilfredo "Wolf" Wilson (vocals, bass, congas, percussion); Bundie Cenac, Fudgie Kae (vocals, bass, percussion); Charles Padro, Neftali Santiago (vocals, drums, percussion).
    Additional personnel includes: Paul Trejo, Elliott Randall, Cliff Morris (guitar); Douglas Cameron (violin); Dave Tofani (alto saxophone); David Conley (saxophone); Kenneth Mason (trumpet, flugelhorn); Alan Rubin (trumpet); Tom Malone (trombone); Greg Mathieson (piano); Rob Mounsey (electric piano); Paul Griffin (clavinet).
    Producers: Beau Ray Fleming, Mandrill, Alfred V. Brown, Jeff Lane, Kenny Vance.
    Compilation producer: Harry Weinger.
    Engineers include: Kim King, Dave Palmer, Harry Maslin.
    Includes liner notes by Pablo Guzman.
    Digitally remastered by Gary N. Mayo (PolyGram Studios).
    This is part of Polydor/Chronicles' Soul Essentials series.
    Personnel: Carlos Wilson (vocals, guitar, flute, alto saxophone, trombone, timbales, percussion); Douglas Rodrigues, Omar Mesa (vocals, guitar, percussion); Fudgie Kae (vocals, acoustic guitar, piano, percussion); Ric Wilson (vocals, tenor saxophone, percussion); Louis Wilson (vocals, flugelhorn, congas, percussion); Claude Cave (vocals, piano, organ, synthesizer, vibraphone, percussion); Neftali Santiago, Charles Padro (vocals, drums, percussion); Bundie Cenas (vocals, percussion); Cliff Morris, Paul Trejo, Elliott Randall (guitar); Doug Cameron (violin); David Conley (saxophone); David Tofani (alto saxophone); Kenny Mason (trumpet, flugelhorn); Alan Rubin (trumpet); Tom "Bones" Malone (trombone); Greg Mathieson (piano); Rob Mounsey (electric piano); Paul Griffin (Clavinet, background vocals); Chris Parker (drums); Crusher Bennett (percussion); Kenny Vance, Luther Vandross, Arnold McCuller, Susan Collins (background vocals).
    Audio Remixers: David Palmer ; Joe Ferla; Kim King.
    Liner Note Author: Pablo Guzman.
    Recording information: Electric Lady Studios, New York, NY (1970-1972); Fidelity Recording, Studio City, CA (1970-1972); Hit Factory, New York, NY (1970-1972); Kendun Recorders, Burbank, CA (1970-1972); Studio In The Country, Bogalusa, LA (1970-1972).
    Unknown Contributor Role: Louis Wilson.
    Arrangers: Mandrill; Rob Mounsey; Paul Griffin .
    By the '90s, the eclecticism of artists like Beck made the combining of genres in a pan-stylistic sound seem like a given. In the '70s, though, when Mandrill was fusing funk, rock, Latin music, R&B, and jazz, such conglomerations were far from the norm. Consequently, Mandrill stood out from their contemporaries as a group with wide-ranging influences and abilities. Their original albums contained so many stylistic detours that only a sturdy compilation like the two-disc FENCEWALK can provide an adequate overview of Mandrill's sound. Throughout, Latin polyrhythms mingle with searing hard-rock guitar, hard-hitting funk rhythms, and jazzy horns. The frequent use of chant-like vocals is indicative of the hippie-influenced collective spirit that was a major part of Mandrill's vision. Fans of everyone from Santana to P-Funk to Earth, Wind & Fire should find something to admire in FENCEWALK.

  • Critic Reviews
    JazzTimes (9/97, p.65) - "...A word to anyone who passes on the two-disc FENCEWALK: THE ANTHOLOGY: you're missing out....Mandrill did it all; if you aren't hip to them, here's your chance to get with it."
    Vibe (5/97, p.124) - "...essential listening for hip-hop nationals, contemporary R&B fans, and rockers alike....delivered streetwise funk, sweet soul ballads, pan-Latin jams, and virile guitar rock with equal authority..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $23.27
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for