CD Funk on Fire: The Mercury Anthology (CD 292096),
back to browsing

Funk on Fire: The Mercury Anthology

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Skin Tight
    2. Jive Turkey
    3. Heaven Must Be Like This
    4. Fire
    5. Together
    6. I Want to Be Free
    7. It's All Over
    8. Piano Ballad (Just Right) - (previously unreleased)
    9. Fopp
    10. Sweet Sticky Thing - (Quad mix)
    11. Love Rollercoaster
    12. Honey
    13. There It Is - (previously unreleased)
    14. Happy Holidays, Pts. 1-2
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Who'd She Coo?
    2. Bi-Centennial
    3. Far East Mississippi
    4. Only a Child Can Love
    5. Angel
    6. O-H-I-O
    7. Body Vibes
    8. Alone
    9. Good Luck Charm
    10. Funk-O-Nots
    11. Time Slips Away
    12. Shady Lady - (previously unreleased)
    13. Wonderful - (previously unreleased)
    14. More Than Love - (previously unreleased)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 063041

  • Credits

    FUNK ON FIRE: THE MERCURY ANTHOLOGY includes a 24-page booklet.
    The Ohio Players: Leroy "Sugarfoot" Bonner (vocals, guitar); Clarence "Chet" Willis (guitar, background vocals); Clarence "Satch" Satchell (flute, saxophone, percussion, background vocals); Ralph "Pee Wee" Middlebrooks, Marvin "Merv" Pierce (trumpet); James "Diamond" Williams (flugelhorn, drums, congas, timbales, percussion, gong, background vocals); William "Billy" Beck (keyboards, percussion, background vocals); Marshall Jones (bass); Robert "Kumba" Jones (congas).
    Additional personnel: Paul Serrano, Jack Kramer (horns).
    Producer: Ohio Players.
    Compilation producers: Ohio Players, Harry Weinger.
    Recorded between 1974 & 1978. Includes liner notes by Alan Light.
    All tracks have been digitally remastered.
    From their erotically charged album covers to their grinding, bass-heavy grooves, the Ohio Players were one of the highest profile funk bands of the 1970s. The superb two-disc anthology FUNK ON FIRE represents everything that made the Players great--fine musicianship, a blend of fiercely syncopated rhythms with pop accessibility, and a sassy, outrageous attitude (thanks, in large part, to the animated vocals of Leroy "Sugarfoot" Bonner). Though the Players released several records for the Detroit-based Westbound label in the early part of their career, they really hit their stride when they signed to Mercury, where they released a string of charting albums, including the funk classics FIRE and HONEY.
    All the hits and key tracks from the Mercury albums are here, including the hard-driving "Fire" and the infectious "Love Rollercoaster," as well as lush, keyboard- and falsetto-drenched ballads ("Together"). While the Players' late-'70s material is generally considered inferior to their mid-'70s work, the second disc of this anthology does an admirable job of picking the best tracks from these later albums--"O-H-I-O" and the spacey "Funk-O-Nots," among them. In short, the Players' best work is boiled down on this definitive set, making it a crucial addition to any funk library.

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (10/95, p.143) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "...George Clinton has pinched all the mid-'70s funk kudos for himself, perhaps The Ohio Players deserve some too..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $28.10
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for