CD Gold [Rick James (Bass)] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 864588),
back to browsing

Gold [Rick James (Bass)] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. You and I
    2. Mary Jane
    3. Bustin' Out - (single edit)
    4. Fire It Up
    5. Love Gun - (single edit)
    6. Come Into My Life (Part 1)
    7. Big Time - (single edit)
    8. Give It to Me Baby
    10. Super Freak (Part 1)
    11. Fire and Desire - (featuring Teena Marie)
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Dance Wit' Me (Part 1)
    2. Standing on the Top (Part 1) - (12" version, featuring Rick James)
    3. Hard to Get
    4. She Blew My Mind (69 Times)
    5. U Bring the Freak Out
    6. Cold Blooded
    7. Ebony Eyes - (featuring Smokey Robinson)
    8. 17 - (single version)
    9. Can't Stop - (single edit)
    10. Glow - (single edit)
    11. Moon Child
    12. Loosey's Rap - (featuring Roxanne Shant)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 0003608

  • Credits
    ProducerHarry Weinger (Compilation)

    Personnel: Ricky James (vocals, guitar); Teena Marie, Smokey Robinson (vocals); Roxanne Shant (rap vocals).
    Liner Note Author: David Ritz.
    Of the many Rick James hits compilations available, GOLD is one of the best. James was the flagship artist at Motown throughout the late 1970s and '80s, keeping the sound of the label vital and contemporary long after the heyday of the Temptations and Smokey Robinson. Over the course of two discs and 22 tracks, GOLD surveys the length of James's Motown tenure, extending all the way up to 1988's "Loosey's Rap" (featuring Roxanne Shante), and representing the performer's mix of classic R&B, disco-inflected dance-floor anthems, '80s electro-groove, and hard party funk.
    Like the best Motown artists, James had an outstanding ear as an arranger and producer. His songs feature roiling beds of rhythm, burbling synthesizers, sharp horn charts, swirling strings, and unfolding choruses of male and female backup singers. The biggest hits--"You and I" (James's first single), the exuberant "Give It to Me Baby," and the irrepressible "Super Freak (Part 1)," his signature song--are here. However, the set is also packed with other gems, including collaborations with Smokey Robinson ("Ebony Eyes"), the Temptations ("Standing on the Top [Part 1]"), and Teena Marie ("Fire and Desire"). GOLD works perfectly as a retrospective, and as a top-notch sampler of this funk icon's work. (Note: Motown's 28-track ANTHOLOGY collection features most of GOLD's selections.)

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $19.95
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for