CD Hard to Earn [PA] (CD 949254),
back to browsing

Hard to Earn [PA]

  • 1. Intro (The First Step)
    3. Code of the Streets
    4. Brainstorm
    5. Tonz 'o' Gunz
    6. Planet, The
    7. Aiiight Chill...
    8. Speak Ya Clout
    9. DWYCK
    10. Words From the Nutcracker
    11. Mass Appeal
    12. Blowin' up the Spot
    13. Suckas Need Bodyguards
    14. Now You're Mine
    15. Mostly Tha Voice
    16. F.A.L.A.
    17. Comin' for Datazz
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 284352A

  • Credits
    ProducerDJ Premier; Guru
    EngineerDJ Premier; Dave Carpenter; Eddie Sancho; Max Vargus; Louis Tineo; Luc Allen; Joe Quinde; Kieran Walsh

    Gang Starr: Guru (rap vocals); DJ Premier (scratches).
    Gang Starr Foundation: Jeru The Damaja, Big Shug, Lil Dap, Melachi The Nutcracker (rap vocals).
    Recorded at D&D Recording, New York, New York.
    Lyricists: Greg Nice; Guru; Melachi the Nutcracker; Jeru the Damaja; Lil' Dap; Smooth B.; Big Shug.
    Audio Mixer: DJ Premier.
    Recording information: D & D Recording, New York, NY.
    Photographer: Daniel Hastings.
    Unknown Contributor Roles: George Clinton ; Quincy Jones.
    On its much-anticipated fourth release, Brooklyn's Gang Starr exhibits the growth and maturity of true professionals, representing hip-hop (not just rap) with an insightful, original perspective on street life and neck-snapping beats that up the ante on creativity. Never compromising its street credibility and respect for commercial hits and mass appeal, this duo has always stuck to the formula most prized in hip-hop: realism. Once again, Gang Starr's commitment to the art form has paid off in an album that is simultaneously innovative, soulful, and slammin'.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (6/2/94, p.70) - 4 Stars (out of 5) - "...Gang Starr have brazenly defied trends, and the result is an achievement like HARD TO EARN..."
    Melody Maker (2/12/94, p.31) - "...a further, welcome shot of [Gang Starr's] luxurious, self-contained sound, where atmosphere, rhythm and lyric are joined at the hip, by the hip, for the hip..."
    Musician (4/94, p.83) - "...This is music that reflects and responds to New York City: sophisticated, alternately claustrophobic and soothing, violent and cool..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
  • Genre: R&B
  • Label: Chrysalis 284352A
  • Distributor: EMD
  • Analog/Digital: n/a
  • Mono/Stereo: Stereo
  • Studio/Live: Studio
  • UPC: 724382843528
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $7.65
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for