CD Hip Hop Forever, Vol. 3 [Limited Edition] [Limited] (CD 1145859),
back to browsing

Hip Hop Forever, Vol. 3 [Limited Edition] [Limited]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Choice Is Yours, The - (Revisited)
    2. Looking at the Front Door
    3. Them That's Not
    4. Extra, Extra
    5. Too Complex
    6. Secrets of the Sand - (Jay Dee Remix)
    7. Eric B. Is President
    8. Droppin' Science
    9. ? Remainz, The
    10. Mass Appeal
    11. Full Clip
    12. Boom
    13. Eric B. Is President
    14. Droppin' Science
    15. ? Remainz, The
    16. Mass Appeal
    17. Full Clip
    18. Boom
    19. Award Tour
    20. Don't Nobody Care About Us
    21. Quiet Storm
    22. Who Got the Props
    23. Let's Get Dirty (I Can't Get in da Club)
    24. Choice Is Yours, The - (Revisited)
    25. Looking at the Front Door
    26. Them That's Not
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Boom
    2. Them That's Not
    3. Looking at the Front Door
    4. Passing Me By
    5. Eric B. Is President
    6. Players
    7. Choice Is Yours, The - (Revisited)
    8. Top Ten List
    9. ? Remainz, The
    10. Quiet Storm
    11. Award Tour
    12. Extra, Extra
    13. Play Dis - (Clean)
    14. Ebonics
    15. Too Complex
    16. Don't Nobody Care About Us
    17. Secrets of the Sand - (Jay Dee Remix)
    18. Ijustwannachill
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): RR-0065LCD

  • Credits
    ProducerDJ Jazzy Jeff (Compilation)

    For a DJ, one of the best ways to show off your skills is through a mixtape, which is pretty much exactly what Jazzy Jeff did with Hip Hop Forever, Vol. 3, an album whose 23 tracks he compiled and mixed, moving through the pieces expertly and easily, blending the beats together into one seamless hour-long set. His scratches throughout the album (check out his work in Marley Marl's "Droppin' Science" or the Black Sheep's fantastic "The Choice Is Yours") give it a very immediate, live feel, but he's careful to make sure it's mostly about the music, and allows the songs to spread out and carry themselves, giving the listener more than just the hook. Unsurprisingly, Jeff chooses a great selection of songs, moving from old-school to Native Tongues to modern underground. The Pharcyde gets two tracks on the record, as do Little Brother and Large Professor (one as Main Source), while DJ Premier is honored with a trilogy of Gang Starr songs ("The ? Remainz," "Mass Appeal," and "Full Clip"). Mostly the East Coast is covered here, but Jeff, as any self-respecting hip-hop fan/musician in 2006 is nearly obliged to do, also pays tribute to the late James Yancey (aka Jay Dee or J Dilla) with a Slum Village track and a Jay Dee track as well as one he produced for fellow Detroiter Phat Kat. Hip Hop Forever, Vol. 3 is a successful mixtape because it puts well-known songs with lesser-known ones, draws out and scratches the beat when appropriate, and shows off Jazzy Jeff's talent without taking away from the actual music. It's intelligent, fun hip-hop spun by a DJ who knows his place -- both as a presenter behind the turntables and also as an artist -- which means he ends up with something pretty enjoyable. ~ Marisa Brown

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $18.75
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for