CD Home in Your Heart: The Best of Solomon Burke (CD 525169),
back to browsing

Home in Your Heart: The Best of Solomon Burke

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Home in Your Heart
    2. Down in the Valley
    3. Looking For My Baby
    4. I'm Hanging up My Heart For You
    5. Cry to Me
    6. Just Out of Reach (Of My Two Open Arms)
    7. Goodbye Baby (Baby Goodbye)
    8. Words
    9. Stupidity
    10. Send Me Some Loving
    11. Go on Back to Him
    12. Baby (I Wanna Be Loved)
    13. Can't Nobody Love You
    14. Got to Get You Off My Mind
    15. Someone to Love Me
    16. You're Good For Me
    17. Dance Dance Dance
    18. Everybody Needs Somebody to Love
    19. Tonight's the Night
    20. Baby, Come on Home
    21. If You Need Me
    22. Price, The
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Get Out of My Life Woman
    2. Save It
    3. Take Me (Just as I Am)
    4. When She Touches Me (Nothing Else Matters)
    5. I Wish I Knew (How It Would Feel to Be Free)
    6. Party People
    7. Keep a Light in the Window
    8. I Feel a Sin Coming On
    9. Meet Me in Church
    10. Someone Is Watching
    11. Detroit City
    12. Shame on Me
    13. I Stayed Away Too Long
    14. It's Just a Matter of Time
    15. Since I Met You Baby
    16. Time Is a Thief
    17. Woman, How Do You Make Me Love You Like I Do
    18. It's Been a Change
    19. What'd I Say
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 70284

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Solomon Burke (vocals); Eric Gale, Reggie Young, Bert Berns (guitar); Herb Wasserman (flute, tenor saxophone) Seldon Powell (alto & tenor saxophone); Leon Cohen (alto saxophone); Alonzo "Buddy" Lucas (tenor saxophone); Haywood Henry (baritone saxophone); Snooky Young (trumpet); Benny Powell (trombone); Hank Jones (piano); Bobby Emmons (electric piano); Spooner Oldham (organ); Roger Hawkins, Bernard Purdie (drums); The Van Dykes (background vocals).
    Producers include: Jerry Wexler, Bert Berns, Tom Dowd, Bob Gallo, Dan Penn.
    Reissue producer: Yves Beauvais.
    Includes liner notes by Gerri Hirshey.
    Digitally remastered by Ted Jensen, January 1992.
    This is part of Rhino's Atlantic & Atco Remasters Series.
    This double-CD set covers highlights from Solomon Burke's Atlantic career, from his first hit, the groundbreaking country soul of "Home in Your Heart," to later 1960s Southern soul sessions in Memphis. This enterprising minister, mortician, and father of 21 children had a successful '60s run on the R&B charts, and HOME IN YOUR HEART highlights the consistent quality of both his voice and his material.
    The first disc is more pop-oriented; the second focuses on Burke's unstoppable R&B talents and distinctive country soul bent, begging the question of why this intensely likeable and adaptable singer couldn't sustain a successful music career through the '70s and '80s. Particularly endearing is "I Wish I Knew How it Would Feel to Be Free" with its late-'60s emphasis on equality, peace, and understanding. "Party People" conjures the ghost of Sam Cooke, while "I Feel a Sin Coming On," apart from having a great title, is quintessential country soul, ushering in a group of songs underlining Burke's church-oriented side such as Joe Tex's "Meet Me in Church" and Eddie Floyd's "Someone is Watching." For fans of 1960s R&B who prefer a little country and a little church in their Memphis soul stew, HOME IN YOUR HEART is a sure-fire winner.

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (9/93, p.104) - 4 Stars - Excellent
0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $19.16
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for