CD I Want My 80's Box [Box] (CD 990038),
back to browsing

I Want My 80's Box [Box]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Video Killed the Radio Star - Buggles
    2. Do You Really Want to Hurt Me - Culture Club
    3. Steppin' Out - Joe Jackson
    4. 867-5309/Jenny - Tommy Tutone
    5. Rapture - Blondie
    6. You Dropped a Bomb on Me - The Gap Band
    7. Let It Whip - Dazz Band
    8. Harden My Heart - Quarterflash
    9. Poison Arrow - ABC
    10. Heat of the Moment - Asia
    11. Mickey - Toni Basil
    12. Celebration - Kool & the Gang
    13. Tempted - Squeeze
    14. Tainted Love - Soft Cell
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Love Is a Battlefield - Pat Benatar
    2. Cuts Like a Knife - Bryan Adams
    3. Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) - Eurythmics
    4. Take on Me - a-ha
    5. Relax - Frankie Goes to Hollywood
    6. One Thing Leads to Another - The Fixx
    7. In a Big Country - Big Country
    8. Come on Eileen - Dexys Midnight Runners
    9. Our House - Madness
    10. Weird Science - Oingo Boingo
    11. Suddenly Last Summer - The Motels
    12. Sister Christian - Night Ranger
    13. Hold Me Now - Thompson Twins
    14. Missing You - John Waite
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Everybody Wants to Rule the World - Tears for Fears
    2. Sledgehammer - Peter Gabriel
    3. She Drives Me Crazy - Fine Young Cannibals
    4. Everybody Have Fun Tonight - Wang Chung
    5. Walk This Way - Joe Perry/Run-D.M.C./Steven Tyler
    6. Addicted to Love - Robert Palmer
    7. Looking for a New Love - Jody Watley
    8. Oh Yeah - Yello
    9. Luka - Suzanne Vega
    10. Lady in Red, The - Chris de Burgh
    11. I Think We're Alone Now - Tiffany
    12. Here I Go Again - Whitesnake
    13. My Prerogative - Bobby Brown
    14. Higher Love - Steve Winwood
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 556758

  • Credits
    ProducerMike Ragogna; Chris Hughes; Chris Stein; Clive Langer; Dana G. Smart; Daniel Lanois; Daniel Miller; Danny Elfman; Mike "Clay" Stone; David Kershenbaum; David Z; Deodato; David L. Stewart; Fine Young Cannibals; John Ratcliff; Gene Griffin; Geoff Workman; Geoffrey Downes; George Tobin; Rhonda Shields; A-Ha; Trevor Veitch; Joe Jackson; John Avila; John Boylan; Keith Olsen; Kevin Rowland; Lenny Kaye; Alan Winstanley; Lonnie Simmons; Alex Sadkin; Andre Cymone; Neil Giraldo; Pat Glasser; Pat Lawrence; Paul Hardiman; Peter Coleman; Reggie Andrews; Rick Rubin; Roger Bechirian; Rupert Hine; Russ Titelman; Russell Simmons; Steve Addabbo; Steve Bartek; Steve Levine; Steve Lillywhite; Steve Winwood; Tom Bailey; Trevor Horn; Val Garay; Yello; Bernard Edwards; Elvis Costello; Bob Clearmountain; Greg Mathieson Project; Mike Ragogna (Compilation)

    Liner Note Author: Kevin Flaherty.
    Released more or less in conjunction with MTV's 20th anniversary in 2001, this triple gatefold sleeve set (not a box as the title implies), with an appropriately gaudy 27-page book, delivers 42 typical examples of songs associated with the music channel in its fledgling years. With 35 Top Ten tracks, ten of which topped the charts, there's no shortage of video as well as radio memories incorporated into these three loosely chronologically arranged discs. Like many Hip-O releases, this favors music already owned by the Universal conglomerate. As such, some early MTV staples like Men at Work, Cyndi Lauper, and especially Duran Duran are MIA. Although their omission doesn't make this a substantially weaker set to the casual fan, more zealous listeners might notice the gaps. Covering the years from the network's sign-on during the afternoon of August 1, 1981 (with the Buggles' now classic "Video Killed the Radio Star"), until 1986, the collection gravitates to the slicker pop/new wave/R&B end of the scale, sacrificing edgier acts like the Clash, Stray Cats, and Prince, who were just as important to its early growth. Overall, the track list speaks for itself. The discs max out time-wise at a relatively conservative hour each, sticking firmly to a self-imposed 14-track limit, leaving at least 45 minutes of unused time across the triple album. Although the songs are sequenced to best blend into each other (synth pop standbys Eurythmics, a-ha, Frankie Goes to Hollywood, and the Fixx are positioned together on disc two), the mood sometimes wildly shifts direction. Disc three includes Suzanne Vega's plaintive, folksy "Luka," Yello's jittery high-tech "Oh Yeah," and Tiffany's brittle, ear-wincing version of "I Think We're Alone Now." Aside from sentimental value, it's difficult to imagine anyone would want to hear all three within the same 15-minute time span. But, nostalgia is what this is all about. Ultimately, this is a representative enough sampling bound to elicit knowing grins and fond memories at your next '80s party from now-aging boomers who remember the good ol' days when MTV actually aired videos. It'll jolt them back to the time these songs ruled the cable waves, for better or worse creating an indelible mark on their musical upbringing. ~ Hal Horowitz

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $28.02
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for