CD Ministry of Sound Anthems: Hip Hop (CD 7016865),
back to browsing

Ministry of Sound Anthems: Hip Hop

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Walk This Way - Run-D.M.C.
    2. Can I Kick It - A Tribe Called Quest
    3. It Takes Two - Rob Base & DJ E-Z Rock
    4. Back by Dope Demand - King Bee
    5. Jump Around - House of Pain
    6. Nuthin' But a G Thang - Dr. Dre/Snoop Dogg
    7. How I Could Just Kill a Man - Cypress Hill
    8. Jazz Thing - Gang Starr (alternate take)
    9. Straight Out of the Jungle - Jungle Brothers
    10. Treat 'Em Right - Chubb Rock
    11. Don't Scandalize Mine - Sugar Bear
    12. My Philosophy - Boogie Down Productions
    13. Peter Piper - Run-D.M.C.
    14. Go See the Doctor - Kool Moe Dee
    15. Rock Dis Funky Joint - Poor Righteous Teachers
    16. Born and Raised in Compton - DJ Quik
    17. I Got It Made - Special Ed
    18. Who Got da Props - Black Moon
    0. DISC 2:
    1. California Love - Dr. Dre/2Pac
    2. Who Am I (What's My Name) - Sheep Doggy Dogg
    3. Insane in the Brain - Cypress Hill
    4. Fu-Gee-La - The Fugees
    5. C.R.E.A.M - Wu-Tang Clan
    6. Dead Presidents II - Jay-Z
    7. Scenario - A Tribe Called Quest
    8. Shook Ones Part II - Mobb Deep
    9. Halftime - Nas
    10. I Used to Love H.E.R. - Common
    11. Ice Cream - Raekwon
    12. It's a Shame - Kool G Rap
    13. Sound Bway Bureill - Smif-N-Wessun
    14. Put It On - Big L
    15. Make Room - Tha Alkaholiks
    16. Twinz - Big Punisher
    17. Step into a World - KRS-One
    18. Deja Vu (Uptown Baby) - Lord Tariq & Peter Gunz
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Hard Knock Life (The Ghetto Anthem) - Jay-Z
    2. Gravel Pit - Wu-Tang Clan
    3. Get Ur Freak On - Missy Elliott
    4. Ante Up (Robin Hoodz Theory) - M.O.P.
    5. Ms. Jackson - OutKast
    6. Vivrant Thing - Q-Tip
    7. Got Ur Self A... - Nas
    8. X - Xzibit
    9. Hip Hop - Dead Prez
    10. Grindin' - Clipse
    11. Lord Give Me a Sign - DMX
    12. Harder Than You Think - Public Enemy
    13. Witness (1 Hope) - Roots Manuva
    14. So Rotten - Jahmali/Blak Twang
    15. Shake Ya Ass - Mystikal
    16. Tipsy - J-Kwon
    17. Low - Flo Rida/T-Pain
    18. Dead and Gone - Justin Timberlake/T.I.
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): MOSCD248

  • Credits

    After recently tackling the old-skool classics of disco, electronica, and R&B, the influential Ministry of Sound label now switch their attention to the hip-hop anthems of yesteryear with this 2011 three-CD collection. Encompassing everything from the iconic rap-rock of Run-D.M.C. ("Walk This Way") to the West Coast G-funk of 2Pac ("California Love") to contemporary offerings from T.I. ("Dead and Gone") and DMX ("Lord Give Me a Sign"), Anthems Hip Hop incorporates 54 of the genre's most influential tracks from the last three decades. While there are a couple of glaringly obvious omissions (the absence of pioneers Grandmaster Flash and the Sugarhill Gang is almost unforgivable) and surprising snubs to Kanye West, the Beastie Boys, and the Notorious B.I.G., this latest installment in the Anthems series does at least attempt to paint a rounded picture of the history of hip-hop, concentrating just as much on underground acts like King Bee ("Back by Dope Demand") and Chubb Rock ("Treat `Em Right") as it does on commercial juggernauts like Jay-Z ("Dead Presidents II") and Dr. Dre ("Nuthin' But a G Thing"). Alongside seminal early cuts from A Tribe Called Quest ("Can I Kick It?"), Base ("It Takes Two"), and House of Pain ("Jump Around"), there are massive chart hits from Missy Elliott ("Get Ur Freak On"), OutKast ("Ms. Jackson"), and M.O.P. ("Ante Up") and two tracks apiece from hip-hop legends Cypress Hill, Wu-Tang Clan, and Nas, while the British contribution to the scene is wisely acknowledged with tunes from Roots Manuva ("Witness [I Hope]"), and Blak Twang ("So Rotten"). But while the first two '80s/'90s-based discs appear to have been carefully compiled, the selections on the noughties-heavy third seem a little more haphazard, with only four tracks included post-2002, two of which (J-Kwon's "Tipsy" and Flo Rida's "Low") are more crunk-led R&B than authentic hip-hop. Like most attempts at genre-defining compilations, Anthems Hip Hop will spark heated debates over what should and shouldn't have been included. But although it's by no means the definitive retrospective, it's a fairly representative musical history lesson that should inspire listeners to dig out their box-fresh Adidas and bust out their best breakdancing moves. ~ Jon O'Brien

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $22.71
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for