CD Music for Your Mother [Funkadelic] (CD 897573),
back to browsing

Music for Your Mother [Funkadelic]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Music for My Mother
    2. Music for My Mother - (TRUE instrumental)
    3. Can't Shake It Loose - (previously unreleased)
    4. As Good as I Can Feel - (previously unreleased)
    5. I Bet You
    6. Qualify and Satisfy
    7. Open Our Eyes
    8. I Got a Thing, You Got a Thing, Everybody's Got a Thing
    9. Fish, Chips & Sweat
    10. I Wanna Know If It's Good to You?
    11. I Wanna Know If It's Good to You? - (TRUE instrumental)
    12. You and Your Folks, Me and My Folks
    13. Funky Dollar Bill
    14. Can You Get to That
    15. Back in Our Minds
    16. I Miss My Baby
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Baby I Owe You Something Good
    2. Hit It and Quit It
    3. Whole Lot of BS, A
    4. Loose Booty
    5. Joyful Process, A
    6. Cosmic Slop
    7. If You Don't Like the Effects, Don't Produce the Cause
    8. Standing on the Verge of Getting It On
    9. Jimmy's Got a Little Bit of Bitch in Him
    10. Red Hot Mama
    11. Vital Juices
    12. Better by the Pound
    13. Stuffs and Things
    14. Let's Take It to the Stage
    15. Biological Speculation
    16. Undisco Kidd
    17. How Do Yeaw View You?
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 55

  • Credits

    MUSIC FOR YOUR MOTHER compiles every single, including B sides, cut by Funkadelic for Westbound.
    Funkadelic includes: Gary Shider (vocals, guitar); George Clinton, Grady Thomas, Fuzzy Haskins, Raymond Davis (vocals); Eddie Hazel, Tawl Ross (guitar); Bernie Worrell (keyboards); Bill Nelson (bass); Tiki Fulwood (drums).
    Producer: George Clinton.
    Compilation producer: Roger Armstrong.
    Includes liner notes by Rob Bowman.
    Liner Note Author: Rob Bowman.
    The double-disc MUSIC FOR YOUR MOTHER: FUNKADELIC 45's is the definitive 'best of' Funkadelic collection. Tracing the band's prime material from 1969 through 1976, both the A and B sides of every single are represented--in all their rocking, funk and soul glory. The set serves as an interesting study of the band's development at the peak of its creative powers--from their early acid rock experiments through more streamlined dance fare. The package features a 22-page booklet, which includes an excellent and very informative band bio from Funkadelic historian Rob Bowman as well as plenty of classic photos of the legendary band in action.
    While the collection will serve as a splendid introduction to newcomers, long-timers will also want to check it out for its inclusion of hard to find single-only releases, remixes, and even a pair of previously unissued tracks ("Can't Shake It Loose" and "As Good As I Can Feel"). Only the creme de la creme of Funkadelic is included-"You And Your Folks," "Hit It And Quit It," "Loose Booty," "Red Hot Mama," "Better By The Pound," "Biological Speculation," "Cosmic Slop," "I Bet You," and many others. This is some of the finest funk ever recorded.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (9/2/93, p.64) - "...real hard-core jollies....Bowman's notes offer an illuminating account of how the Parliafunkadelicment Thang came into being, but the music is as instructive..."
    Q (2/93, p.88) - 3 Stars - Good - "...though lacking the loopy conceptual unity and narrative of the later albums, there's enough going on here to keep you baffled for the duration..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $27.26
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for