CD Natalie Live! (CD 7013611),
back to browsing

Natalie Live!

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Sophisticated Lady (She's a Different Lady)
    2. Que Sera, Sera
    3. Lovers
    4. I'm Catching Hell (Living Here Alone)
    5. Mr. Melody
    6. This Will Be (An Everlasting Love)
    7. Party Lights
    8. I've Got Love On My Mind
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds
    2. Inseparable
    3. Crybaby
    4. Can We Get Together Again
    5. I Can't Say No
    6. Something's Got a Hold On Me
    7. Be Thankful
    8. Our Love
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): SMCR 5009

  • Credits
    EngineerRay Thompson; Barney Perkins

    Producers: Charles Jackson, Marvin Yancy, Gene Barge.
    Recorded live at Universal Amphitheatre, Universal City, California in August 1977; Latin Casino, Cherry Hill, New Jersey in March 1978.
    Adapter: Don Hannah.
    Personnel: Natalie Cole (background vocals); Charles Bynum, Andy Kastner (guitar); Michael Wycoff (keyboards, background vocals); Linda Williams (keyboards); Ted Sparks (drums); Wayne Habersham (percussion, background vocals); Louis Pajomo (percussion); Sissy Peoples, Anita Anderson (background vocals).
    Audio Mixers: Zollie Johnson; Barney Perkins.
    Liner Note Author: David Nathan.
    Recording information: Latin Casino, Cherry Hill, NJ (03/1978); Universal Amphitheater, Universal City, CA (03/1978); Latin Casino, Cherry Hill, NJ (08/1977); Universal Amphitheater, Universal City, CA (08/1977).
    Editors: Charles Jackson ; Zollie Johnson; Gene Barge; Marvin Yancy; Barney Perkins.
    Arrangers: Gene Barge; Richard Evans .
    Regrettably, most of the R&B artists who emerged in the '70s never recorded official live albums -- and bootlegs aren't an option in most cases because bootleggers usually stick to rock and pop. Natalie Cole fans, however, were given a pleasant surprise when, in 1978, Capitol provided the double-LP Natalie Live. This excellent release contains the highlights of two concerts: one at the Universal Amphitheater in Universal City, CA, (a Los Angeles suburb) in August 1977, and the other at the Latin Casino in Cherry Hill, NJ, (near Philadelphia) in March 1978. Backed by solid bands, Cole is inspired and passionate on performances of gems from Inseparable ("I Can't Say No," "This Will Be," and the title song) and Natalie ("Sophisticated Lady") as well as Unpredictable ("I've Got Love on My Mind," "Party Lights") and Thankful ("Our Love" and "Lovers"). Cole also surprises us with a few covers that weren't on any of her studio LPs, including a sweaty version of "Cry Baby" and a totally unexpected performance of the Beatles' "Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds." That psychedelic classic might seem like an odd choice for Cole, but the tune actually works quite well for her. Besides, Cole never claimed to be a soul purist -- she never swore off rock or pop, and some of the gems that she performs have jazz overtones (including "Lovers" and "Mr. Melody"). One could nitpick about the absence of the enchanting, Brazilian-flavored "La Costa," which drove quiet storm programmers wild. But all things considered, Natalie Live is an exciting document of the singer's live performances of the late '70s. ~ Alex Henderson

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $18.45
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for