CD Oh Girl/Somethin' Sanctified (CD 561908),
back to browsing

Oh Girl/Somethin' Sanctified

  • 1. Yes We Can Can
    2. Oh Girl
    3. Can't Get Enough of You
    4. Hi-Fly
    5. Where Is the Love?
    6. Rubber Lips
    7. Such a Beautiful Feeling
    8. Food Stamps
    9. I'm Still Here
    10. Bumpin' on Young Street
    11. On the Street Where You Live
    12. Thrill Is Gone, The
    13. Ow!
    14. Milestones
    15. Sino, El
    16. Somethin' Sanctified
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 6283

  • Credits
    EngineerHarry Maslin; Paul Serrano

    /Slide Hampton Octet.
    2 LPs on 1 CD: Young-Holt Unlimited: OH GIRL (1972)/Slide Hampton Octet: SOMETHIN' SANCTIFIED (1961).
    Includes liner notes by John Engstrom and Jack Maher.
    OH GIRL:
    Young-Holt Unlimited: Edlee Young (acoustic, 6-string electric & 8-string electric basses); Isaac "Red" Holt (drums); Marcus Curry (electric guitar); Ken Chaney (acoustic & electric pianos); Bobby Lyle (electric piano); Richard Tee (organ); Ralph McDonald (congas, percussion).
    Additional personnel includes: Eumir Deodato (conductor).
    Producer: Michael Cuscuna.
    Engineer: Paul Serrano.
    Recorded at P.S. Studios, Chicago, Illinois in May 1972 and at the Hit Factory, New York, New York in August 1972. Originally released on Atlantic (1634).
    Slide Hampton Octet: Slide Hampton (trombone, baritone horn); George Coleman (tenor saxophone); Jay Cameron (baritone saxophone, clarinet); Richard Williams, Hobart Dotson (trumpet); Charlie Greenlee (trombone, baritone horn); Laurence Ridley (bass); Peter Sims (drums).
    Originally released on Atlantic (1362).
    Personnel: Marcus Curry (electric guitar); Jay Cameron (bass clarinet, baritone saxophone); George Coleman (tenor saxophone); Richard Gene Williams , Hobart Dotson (trumpet); Slide Hampton (trombone, baritone horn); Ken Chaney (piano, electric piano); Bobby Lyle (electric piano); Richard Tee (organ); Eldee Young (acoustic bass, electric bass, 8-string bass); Isaac "Redd" Holt, Pete La Roca (drums); Ralph MacDonald (congas, percussion).
    Audio Remixer: Harry Maslin.
    Liner Note Author: Jack Maher .
    Recording information: Hit Factory, New York, NY (05/1972-08/1972); P.S. Studios, Chicago, IL (05/1972-08/1972).
    Arranger: Slide Hampton.
    In 1999, Collectables released Oh Girl/Somethin' Sanctified, which contained two complete albums -- Oh Girl by Young-Holt Unlimited (1973, originally released on Atlantic) and Somethin' Sanctified by the Slide Hampton Octet (1961, originally released on Atlantic) -- on one compact disc. ~ Jason Birchmeier

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.86
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for