CD Om 100: A Celebration of the 100th Release of Om Records (CD 837836),
back to browsing

Om 100: A Celebration of the 100th Release of Om Records

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Salutation - King Kooba
    2. Natural - Afro-Mystik
    3. Take 5 - Johnny Fiasco
    4. In Time - Pimp Rekker
    5. Hey You - Mark Grant
    6. Get Busy - Kaskade
    7. Rude Groove - Marques Wyatt (Rude Journey Remix, Rude Journey remix)
    8. Just Before Dawn - Rithma
    9. All Right - Soulstice
    10. I Can't Wait - Andy Caldwell (Perpetual Bliss Mix)
    11. What I Say - Kaskade
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Never Stop - Soulstice
    2. Playa, La - J Boogie
    3. Everyday - Mark Farina
    4. Bomb Combo, The - People Under the Stairs
    5. Misdirected - Aref Durvesh/Ming + FS/DK
    6. Beauty and Warmth of an Ultra Violet Memory - Scuba
    7. Buddha Cowboy - John Howard
    8. Afro Loft Theme - Fred Everything
    9. Something About the Music - Juan Atkins
    10. Don't Give Up Now - Landslide (Boswick Gates Remix, Boswick Gates remix)
    11. Lock It Up - West Magnetic
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 30200

  • Credits
    ProducerF. Bjarnson; M. Turner; C. Tate; Christopher Smith; John Lopez; Rob Wannamaker; C. Portugal; Tim Land; Capacitor; Frederick Blais; R. Lamb; J Boogie; D.J. Brooks; Juan Atkins; King Britt; Mark Farina; Mark Grant; Marques Wyatt; Andy Caldwell; People Under The Stairs; Ryan Raddon; Charles Spencer
    EngineerEtienne Stehelin; Charles Spencer

    Includes liner notes by Christopher Smith.
    Personnel: FS (vocals, guitar, Fender Rhodes piano, keyboards, turntables); Chezere, D.K., Rob Wannamaker, Gina Rene, Aref Durvesh (vocals); Peter Lerner (guitar); Carlos Ariaza (flute); Ron Graham (saxophone); Todd M. Simon (trumpet, flugelhorn); Simone White (drums).
    Audio Mixer: Mark Farina.
    Audio Remixer: Boswick Gates.
    Arranger: Mark Farina.
    Om 100, which celebrates the 100th release of Om Records with a two-CD set of previously unreleased material, starts off with King Kooba's "Salvation." It's an appropriate track to begin this kind of collection -- worthy of dancefloors and living room chill-outs -- because it seems to look back with fuzzy-at-the-edges beats and jazzy keyboard orchestration that seamlessly evoke some lost vintage sound. Afro-Mystik picks up this thread with the soulful vocals and world rhythms of "Natural." Other highlights include "Pimp Rekker"'s electro-R&B track "In Time," Soulstice's shimmering, funky "All Right" and hip-hopping "Never Stop," and techno innovator Juan Atkins' beautifully experimental "Something About the Music," which still easily eclipses most electronic producers. But the true winners on Om 100 are the People Under the Stairs, whose old school, underground hip-hop on "The Bomb Combo" -- tipping a hat to both 1992 and 1986 -- is nothing less than revelatory. All in all, Om 100 is a great record, a sweet party mix, a perfect chill-out set, and a history worthy of a label that's still growing. ~ Charles Spano

  • Critic Reviews
    CMJ (8/5/02, p.15) - "...The OM roster is vast and quite devastating....everything here gives us hope for a very promising future."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.55
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for