CD Original Me [Cascada] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 15649753),
back to browsing

Original Me [Cascada] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1: MAIN ALBUM:
    1. San Francisco
    2. Au Revoir
    3. Stalker
    4. Night Nurse
    5. Pyromania
    6. Unspoken
    7. Original Me
    8. Sinner On the Dancefloor
    9. Enemy
    10. Hungover
    11. Indepence Day
    12. San Francisco [Cahill Remix]
    13. San Francisco [Frisco Remix]
    14. San Francisco [Wideboys Remix]
    15. Pyromania [Spencer & Hill Remix]
    16. Pyromania [Cahill Remix]
    1. Miracle [U.S. Remix]
    2. Bad Boy [Central 7 Remix]
    3. Everytime We Touch [Original 2005 Club Mix]
    4. How Do You Do [Verano Remix]
    5. Truly Madly Deeply [U.K. Club Mix]
    6. What Hurts the Most [Original Club Mix]
    7. Because the Night [Manian's Bootleg Edit]
    8. Because the Night [Manox Remix]
    9. Faded [Dave Ramone Remix]
    10. Evacuate the Dance Floor [Wideboys Remix]
    11. Fever [Ian Carey Remix]
    12. Fever [Ryan Thistlebeck Remix]
    13. Dangerous [Manian Remix]
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 272479

  • Credits

    Having worked their trance-pop magic on covers of tracks by Rascal Flatts, Savage Garden, and Patti Smith, and with their U.K. number one single "Evacuate the Dancefloor" (which kept the flurry of Michael Jackson songs off the top spot in the week of his death) bearing an uncanny resemblance to Lady Gaga's "Just Dance," one suspects that the title of German trio Cascada's fourth album, Original Me, was selected with tongue firmly in cheek. Even more so, considering its opening track "San Francisco" features almost the exact same floaty synth hook and grinding beats as Katy Perry's "California Gurls," showing that their ability to borrow from the biggest pop songs of the year remains as shameless as ever. The majority of its 11 tracks are equally derivative with the excessively Auto-Tuned "Night Nurse," and the robotic-sounding "Pyromania" yet again echoing the shimmering electro-pop of Gaga, the slinky Euro-disco chorus of "Enemy" reminiscent of former Swedish Idol winner Agnes' breakthrough "Release Me," and even the obligatory ballad "Hungover" sounding suspiciously like a Ryan Tedder-penned leftover. Indeed, the whole album feels like a cut-price replica of the latest Now compilation, with Natalie Horler's powerful diva vocals and the odd flashes of inspiration, such as the glam-schlager pop of "Au Revoir" and the rock-tinged hip-pop of "Independence Day" its only saving graces. The second greatest-hits disc, which features 15 of their 16 singles (Top Ten hit "Miracle" is bizarrely omitted) is a chance to sample the Cascada formula before its relentlessly pumping beats and floor-filling trance riffs became too over-familiar. Surprise U.S. hit "Everytime We Touch" is still arguably their defining moment, but despite its obvious influences, "Evacuate the Dancefloor" remains an undeniably great pop song, while their reworking of "Because the Night" is nowhere near as unlistenable as you might expect. But there's very little to get excited elsewhere thanks to a constant stream of formulaic covers and generic Clubland anthems which don't really translate outside a crowded nightclub. Five years after bursting onto the scene, Original Me shows that Cascada aren't in a hurry to change their sound any time soon, but judging from its lackluster material, they might not be afforded that luxury next time round. ~ Jon O'Brien

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $17.28
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for