CD Real 60's: R&B [Box] [755174814228] (CD 972374),
back to browsing

Real 60's: R&B [Box] [755174814228]

  • 0. DISC 1: REAL '60S: R&B:
    1. There's Something on Your Mind, Pt1 - Bobby Marchan
    2. Stay - Maurice Williams & the Zodiacs
    3. Letter Full of Tears - Gladys Knight & the Pips
    4. This Is My Story - Mickey & Sylvia
    5. I Need Your Loving - Dee Dee Ford/Don Gardner
    6. Mixed up, Shook up Girl - Patty & the Emblems
    7. I Found Out Too Late - Jackie & the Starlites
    8. Sky Is Crying, The - Elmore James
    9. Love Letters - Ketty Lester
    10. Unchained Melody - Vito & the Salutations
    0. DISC 2: REAL '60S: R&B:
    1. Ride Your Pony - Lee Dorsey
    2. I'm Your Puppet - James Purify/Bobby Purify/James & Bobby Purify
    3. Pouring Water on a Drowning Man - James Carr
    4. Proud Mary - Solomon Burke
    5. World of Fantasy - The Five Stairsteps
    6. Sweetest One - The Metros
    7. Night Train - The Viscounts
    8. Sloopy, (My Girl) - Little Caesar & the Consuls
    9. Mother Nature, Father Time - Brook Benton
    10. I'll Be Sweeter Tomorrow (Than I Was Today) - The O'Jays
    0. DISC 3: REAL '60S: R&B:
    1. La la Means I Love You - The Delfonics
    2. Stoned Soul Picnic - The 5th Dimension
    3. Going in Circles - The Friends of Distinction
    4. Shake a Tail Feather - James Purify/Bobby Purify/James & Bobby Purify
    5. For You Precious Love - Oscar Toney, Jr.
    6. Dark End of the Street, The - James Carr
    7. Do What You Gotta Do - Nina Simone
    8. I Ain't Got to Love Nobody Else - The Masqueraders
    9. It's True I'm Gonna Miss You - Carolyn Franklin
    10. You Don't Know What You're Missing (Til It's Gone) - The Exciters
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 48142

  • Credits

    Performers include: Solomon Burke, James Carr, Elmore James, Lee Dorsey, The Delfonics.
    Contains 30 tracks.
    This three-disc set (at only 30 tracks, it could have easily been issued as a double-disc package, or with minimal editing, as a single disc) is surprisingly charming, and you have to figure that any anthology that has Elmore James ("The Sky Is Crying"), James Carr("The Dark End of the Street"), James & Bobby Purify ("I'm Your Puppet"), Lee Dorsey ("Ride Your Pony"), and Nina Simone (the wonderfully nuanced "Do What You Gotta Do") under one roof is doing something right. A little Motown would have made things a little more thorough, but there is plenty of quality and variety here. ~ Steve Leggett

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $11.17
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for