CD That's the Way of the World [Remaster] (CD 1188414),
back to browsing

That's the Way of the World [Remaster]

  • 1. Shining Star
    2. That's the Way of the World
    3. Happy Feelin'
    4. All About Love
    5. Yearnin', Learnin'
    6. Reasons
    7. Africano
    8. See the Light
    9. Shining Star (Future Star) - (previously unreleased, original version, bonus track)
    10. All About Love (First Impressions) - (previously unreleased, original version, bonus track)
    11. Happy Feelin' (Anatomy of a Groove) - (previously unreleased, original version, bonus track)
    12. Caribou Chaser (Jazzy Jam) - (previously unreleased, original version, bonus track)
    13. That's the Way of the World (Latin Expedition) - (previously unreleased, original version, bonus track)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 65920

  • Credits
    EngineerGeorge Massenburg

    Also available in a 3-pack with SPIRIT and ALL IN ALL.
    Earth, Wind & Fire: Maurice White (vocals, kalimba, drums); Verdine White (vocals, bass, percussion); Philip Bailey (vocals, congas, percussion); Al McKay (guitar, percussion); Johnny Graham (guitar); Andrew Woolfolk (flute, soprano & tenor saxophones); Larry Dunn (piano, organ, synthesizer); Ralph Johnson, Fred White (drums, percussion).
    Additional personnel: Matepe Ensemble, Saini Murira.
    Producers: Maurice White, Charles Stepney.
    Reissue producer: Leo Sacks.
    Includes liner notes by Robert Lipsyte.
    Digitally remastered by Mark Wilder (Sony Music Studios, New York, New York).
    Providing the soundtrack for the film of the same name, THAT'S THE WAY OF THE WORLD was originally released in 1975. The movie featured Earth, Wind & Fire as the Group and a young Harvey Keitel as their record producer. The album topped the charts for three weeks and is an R&B/funk classic.
    The opening chords of the number-one smash "Shining Star" begin a very special record. The song's positive lyrics are laid over a fabulous groove and arrangement. A smooth trumpet piece leads into the soprano harmonies of the title track. "Happy Feelin'" picks up the pace with standout percussion and sax solos. "All About Love" is a soulful ballad featuring Maurice White on vocals. "Reasons," sung by the equally competent Philip Bailey, takes the listener on a journey to the land of R&B perfection. "Africano," featuring a flute intro, is a flowing funkified number that would be the inspiration for many disco tunes of later years. "See the Light" showcases the production talents of Maurice White. This reissue also contains five unreleased demo versions, making it an essential purchase.

  • Critic Reviews
    Q (11/99, p.146) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...the soundtrack to a long-forgotten Harvey Keitel movie...[It] blends brassy funk with tender love songs and snappy jazz..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $6.64
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for