CD The 50th Anniversary Collection (CD 860516),
back to browsing

The 50th Anniversary Collection

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Please, Please, Please
    2. Try Me
    3. Good Good Lovin'
    4. I'll Go Crazy
    5. Think
    6. Bewildered
    7. Lost Someone
    8. Night Train
    9. Prisoner of Love
    10. Out of Sight
    11. Papa's Got a Brand New Bag, Pt. 1
    12. I Got You (I Feel Good)
    13. It's a Man's Man's Man's World
    14. Bring It Up (Hipster's Avenue)
    15. Let Yourself Go
    16. Cold Sweat, Pt. 1
    17. Get It Together, Pt. 1
    18. There Was a Time - (live)
    19. I Can't Stand Myself (When You Touch Me), Pt. 1
    20. I Got the Feelin'
    21. Licking Stick-Licking Stick, Pt. 1
    22. Say It Loud (I'm Black and I'm Proud), Pt. 1
    23. Give It Up or Turnit a Loose
    24. I Don't Want Nobody to Give Me Nothing (Open Up the Door, I'll Get ...)
    25. Popcorn, The
    26. Mother Popcorn, Pt. 1
    27. Ain't It Funky Now, Pt. 1
    0. DISC 2:
    1. It's a New Day, Pt. 1
    2. Get Up (I Feel Like Being A) Sex Machine, Pt. 1
    3. Super Bad, Pt. 1
    4. Get Up, Get into It, Get Involved, Pt. 1
    5. Soul Power, Pt. 1
    6. Hot Pants, Pt. 1
    7. Make It Funky, Pt. 1
    8. I'm a Greedy Man, Pt. 1
    9. Talking Loud and Saying Nothing, Pt. 1
    10. There It Is, Pt. 1
    11. Get on the Good Foot, Pt. 1
    12. I Got Ants in My Pants (And I Want to Dance), Pt. 1
    13. Down and Out in New York City
    14. Sexy, Sexy, Sexy
    15. Doing It to Death, Pt. 1
    16. Payback, Pt. 1, The
    17. My Thang
    18. Papa Don't Take No Mess, Pt. 1
    19. Funky President (People It's Bad)
    20. Get up Offa That Thing
    21. Body Heat, Pt. 1
    22. It's Too Funky in Here
    23. Static, Pts. 1 & 2
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 000112502

  • Credits

    Personnel: James Brown (vocals, keyboards); Bobby Byrd (vocals); Maceo Parker (saxophone); The JB's, Full Force.
    Producers: Ralph Bass, Andy Gibson, James Brown, Hal Neely.
    Compilation producer: harry Weinger, Jeff Moskow.
    Recorded between 1956 & 1988. Includes liner notes by Cliff White.
    Personnel: James H. Brown (vocals, organ); Fred Wesley (trombone).
    Liner Note Author: Clifford White.
    Photographers: David Corio; Harry Goodwin; Don Paulsen.
    Arrangers: Dave Matthews ; Fred Wesley; Full Force; James H. Brown; Sammy Lowe.
    James Brown's two-CD 40th Anniversary Collection gathered 40 of the soul-funk giant's biggest hits, and in keeping with its title, The 50th Anniversary Collection is just that little bit bigger and better, with (could you guess?) 50 of his most famous tracks. From 1956's "Please, Please, Please" to 1988's "Static, Pts. 1 & 2," it has almost all of his biggies, though the absence of the 1986 Top Five hit "Living in America" is puzzling indeed. But that's a minor quibble given the dozens of classics onboard, which taken as a whole not only represent the best Brown compilation on the market, but also make a plain case for the singer as one of the major talents of 20th century American music. It's not wholly redundant on the off-chance that you're willing to replace 40th Anniversary Collection, mopping up a few hits of note ("Bewildered," "Bring It Up," "Let Yourself Go," "I Can't Stand Myself [When You Touch Me], Pt. 1," "It's a New Day, Pt. 1," "The Popcorn") that didn't make the cut the previous time around. If you're keeping score, it does lose a couple minor goodies from 40th Anniversary Collection ("Money Won't Change You," "King Heroin"). Also, the '70s funk years might be given too much emphasis and his R&B-soul beginnings shortchanged, though there are plenty of other reissues of his '50s/'60s material out there if you want to investigate further. Want another minor quibble on what is nonetheless a superb anthology? 40th Anniversary Collection came out in 1996; The 50th Anniversary Collection came out in 2003. Now that's the sort of creative accounting only a marketing department could love. Didn't this anniversary come three years early, especially considering that Brown's recording debut was in 1956? ~ Richie Unterberger

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $20.39
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for