CD The Anthology 1961-1977 (CD 136479),
back to browsing

The Anthology 1961-1977

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Gypsy Woman
    2. Grow Closer Together
    3. Never Let Me Go
    4. Little Young Lover
    5. Minstrel and Queen (Queen Majesty)
    6. I'm the One Who Loves You
    7. Sad, Sad Girl and Boy
    8. It's All Right
    9. Talking About My Baby
    10. I'm So Proud
    11. Keep on Pushing
    12. You Must Believe Me
    13. See the Real Me
    14. Amen
    15. I've Been Trying
    16. People Get Ready
    17. It's Hard to Believe
    18. Woman's Got Soul
    19. Meeting Over Yonder
    20. I Need You
    21. You've Been Cheatin'
    22. Man, Oh Man - (previously unreleased)
    23. Can't Satisfy
    24. We're a Winner
    25. I Loved and I Lost
    26. We're Rolling On (Pt. 1)
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Fool for You
    2. This Is My Country
    3. Choice of Colors
    4. Check Out Your Mind
    5. Move on Up
    6. (Don't Worry) If There's a Hell Below, We're All Going to Go
    7. Makings of You, The
    8. Beautiful Brother of Mine
    9. Freddie's Dead
    10. Superfly
    11. Pusherman
    12. So in Love
    13. Only You Babe - (single edit)
    14. Do Do Wap Is Strong in Here - (single edit)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): MCAD2-10664

  • Credits

    Producer: Curtis Mayfield.
    Compilation producer: Andy McKaie.
    Recorded between 1961 and 1977. Includes liner notes by Robert Pruter.
    Digitally remastered by Robert Stoughton (MCA Recording Studios, North Hollywood, California).
    Recording information: 07/1961-??/1977.
    If Chuck D. is the modern music's incarnation of Malcolm X, then Curtis Mayfield must surely be its Martin Luther King. From the inception of his career, Mayfield has created some of the warmest, most uplifting music that secular soul music has ever offered. ANTHOLOGY focuses mainly on his tenure with The Impressions--his seminal gospel based '60s group. Mayfield's intent was always clear: a ringing message of peace and brotherhood. His message for equality was insistent, yet it came with an open hand rather than a closed fist. The trust in humanity such a stance required during the '60s is evidenced in the beauty of Mayfield's songs.
    "Meeting Over Yonder," "Keep on Pushing," and perhaps most importantly, "People Get Ready" overwhelm on musical merit alone. What is most impressive, however, is the power that lies in lack of bitterness or cynicism in these songs. As Mayfield moved on to a solo career, he became even more didactic, practically inventing funk in process with "Freddie's Dead" and "Superfly." He sunk into expansive grooves, displacing the glory '70s drug-induced complacency with wah-wah guitars and loping melodies. ANTHOLOGY ends on a decidedly positive note, which is probably how Mayfield prefers it.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (2/4/93, p.69) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "...a remarkable document...this collection connects a decade's worth of gentle Impressions singles with the power and invention of Curtis Mayfield's solo career...a stunning picture..."
    Entertainment Weekly (1/29/93, p.57) - "...this set is more than just a long-overdue reissue; it also serves as a vivid mini-history of soul, from '60s vocal harmony through '70s blaxploitation. Essential..." - Rating: A
    Musician (6/93, p.94) - "...Even if you already know the big hits, this deeply satisfying two-CD feast holds wondrous delights..."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $25.61
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for