CD The Definitive Albert King on Stax (CD 7021498),
back to browsing

The Definitive Albert King on Stax

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Don't Throw Your Love on Me So Strong
    2. Laundromat Blues
    3. Oh, Pretty Woman
    4. Crosscut Saw
    5. Born Under a Bad Sign
    6. Cold Feet
    7. (I Love) Lucy
    8. Blues Power
    9. Killing Floor
    10. Sky Is Crying, The
    11. Drowning on Dry Land
    12. Tupelo, Pt. 1
    13. Water
    14. Wrapped Up in Love Again
    15. Hound Dog
    16. Can't You See What You're Doing to Me
    17. Honky Tonk Woman
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Everybody Wants to Go to Heaven
    2. She Caught the Katy and Left Me a Mule to Ride
    3. Tell Me What True Love Is
    4. Angel of Mercy
    5. I'll Play the Blues for You, Pt. 1
    6. Breaking Up Somebody's Home
    7. Answer to the Laundromat Blues
    8. Match Box Blues [Live at Wattstax]
    9. I Wanna Get Funky
    10. Playing on Me
    11. That's What the Blues Is All About
    12. Flat Tire
    13. Crosscut Saw [1974 Remake]
    14. Santa Claus Wants Some Lovin'
    15. Driving Wheel
    16. I'm Doing Fine
    17. Dust My Broom
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): STX32765

  • Credits
    ProducerChris Clough (Compilation)

    Personnel: Albert King (vocals, guitar).
    Liner Note Author: Bill Dahl.
    Recording information: Fillmore West, San Francisco, CA.
    Photographer: Jim Marshall .
    Blues guitarist Albert King was in his prime when he signed with Stax Records in 1966, and he stayed with the label through 1975, turning out his most memorable performances in that time, from his signature "Born Under a Bad Sign" to his blazing take on "Cross Cut Saw." Working with the Stax house band that just happened to be Booker T. & the MG's gave his recordings a full, soulful blues sound, and his distinctive and mannered guitar playing style (a left-hander, he kept his guitar in an E-minor tuning and played it upside down without reversing the strings, which meant when he bent a note, it bent the opposite way than most guitar players would bend it) influenced everyone from Jimi Hendrix to Eric Clapton. This fine two-disc set collects the best tracks from King's time with Stax, and includes "Born Under a Bad Sign," "Cross Cut Saw" (there's also a 1974 remake of this one collected here), and striking, interesting versions of Elmore James' "The Sky Is Crying" and the iconic "Hound Dog," among other sides. It all adds up to a fine portrait of a great guitarist in his prime. ~ Steve Leggett

  • Critic Reviews
    Living Blues (p.66) - "[T]he most unusual of the bunch is loosely funky 'Tell Me What True Love Is'....An introduction to the groundbreaking music of the late blues great."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $15.51
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for