CD The Definitive Collection [ABBA] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 985768),
back to browsing

The Definitive Collection [ABBA] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. People Need Love
    2. He Is Your Brother
    3. Ring Ring
    4. Love Isn't Easy (But It Sure Is Hard Enough)
    5. Waterloo
    6. Honey, Honey
    7. So Long
    8. I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do
    9. S.O.S.
    10. Mamma Mia
    11. Fernando
    12. Dancing Queen
    13. Money, Money, Money
    14. Knowing Me, Knowing You
    15. Name of the Game, The
    16. Take a Chance on Me
    17. Eagle
    18. Summer Night City
    19. Chiquitita
    20. Does Your Mother Know
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Voulez-Vous
    2. Angeleyes
    3. Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)
    4. I Have a Dream
    5. Winner Takes It All, The
    6. Super Trouper
    7. On and on and On
    8. Lay All Your Love on Me
    9. One of Us
    10. When All Is Said and Done
    11. Head Over Heels
    12. Visitors, The (Crackin' Up)
    13. Day Before You Came, The
    14. Under Attack
    15. Thank You for the Music
    16. Ring Ring - (1974 Remix, Single Version mix, 1974 single remix)
    17. Voulez-Vous - (Extended Remix, 1979 US Promo mix)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 549974

  • Credits
    EngineerMichael B. Tretow

    ABBA: Bjorn Ulvaeus (vocals, guitar); Benny Anderson (vocals, keyboards);
    Anni-Frid Lyngstad, Agnetha Faltskog (vocals).
    Producers: Bjorn Ulvaeus, Benny Anderson
    Compilation producer: Marko Soderstrom
    Recorded between 1972 and 1982. Includes liner notes by Carl Magnus Palm.
    All tracks have been digitally remastered.
    Audio Remasterers: Jon Astley; Michael B. Tretow.
    Liner Note Author: Carl Magnus Palm.
    Photographers: Ola Lager; Anders Hanser; Bengt H. Malmqvist.
    Released to coincide with the arrival on Broadway of Mamma Mia!, (a musical based on the songs of Abba), THE DEFINITIVE COLLECTION packs two CDs with every single ever released by this Swedish guilty pleasure between 1972 and 1982. Chronologically arranged and expertly remastered, this package kicks off with the flower-power sentiments of "People Need Love" and "He Is Your Brother." These preceded the breakthrough "Waterloo" that won the 1974 Eurovision competition and proved to be Abba's springboard to international superstardom.
    From there, it's an infectious ride overflowing with hooks, harmonies and stellar arrangements that bubble over from much-loved songs like "Fernando," "Dancing Queen," "SOS," Take A Chance On Me," and "Winner Takes It All," chronicling Abba's move from Europop to impressive Wall-of-Sound flavored disco. Capped off with a 1974 remix of "Ring Ring" that's getting its American debut and a 1979 extended dance remix of "Voulez-Vous" that was never commercially available, THE DEFINITIVE COLLECTION is pure pop manna for die-hards and novices alike.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (12/11/03, p.136) - Ranked #180 in Rolling Stone's "The 500 Greatest Albums Of All Time"
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $13.10
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for