CD The Essential Etta James [076732934128] (CD 535984),
back to browsing

The Essential Etta James [076732934128]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. All I Could Do Is Cry
    2. My Dearest Darling
    3. If I Can't Have You
    4. Sunday Kind of Love, A
    5. Anything to Say You're Mine
    6. At Last
    7. Seven Day Fool
    8. Trust in Me
    9. Don't Cry Baby
    10. Fool That I Am
    11. One For My Baby (And One More For the Road)
    12. Waiting For Charlie (To Come Home)
    13. Something's Got a Hold on Me
    14. Next Door to the Blues
    15. These Foolish Things (Remind Me of You)
    16. Stop the Wedding
    17. Prisoner of Love
    18. Pushover
    19. Would It Make Any Difference to You
    20. Pay Back
    21. Two Sides to Every Story
    22. Baby What You Want Me to Do - (live)
    0. DISC 2:
    1. In the Basement (Part 1)
    2. Loving You More Every Day
    3. Do I Make Myself Clear
    4. I Prefer You
    5. It Must Be Your Love
    6. 842-3089 (Call My Name)
    7. I'd Rather Go Blind
    8. Tell Mama
    9. Do Right Woman, Do Right Man - (previously unreleased)
    10. Security
    11. Almost Persuaded
    12. You Got It
    13. Miss Pitiful
    14. Losers Weepers (Part 1)
    15. W.O.M.A.N.
    16. I Never Meant to Love Him - (previously unreleased)
    17. You Can Leave Your Hat On
    18. God's Song (That's Why I Love Mankind)
    19. All the Way Down
    20. Lovin' Arms
    21. Feeling Uneasy
    22. Let's Burn Down the Cornfield
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 9341

  • Credits

    Personnel includes: Etta James, Harvey Fuqua, Sugar Pie DeSanto (vocals); Matt Murphy, David Walker, Sidney Pinchback, Cash McCall, Danny Kortchmar, "Wah Wah" Watson, Lowell George (guitar); Clifford Clark (alto saxophone);, Gavrell Cooper, Ben Branch, Gene Barge (tenor saxophone); Delbert Hill (baritone saxophone); Floyd Newman, Charles Chalmers (saxophone); Burgess Gardner, Oscar Brashear, Raymond Orr, Murray Watson (trumpet); Morris Ellis, Willie Henderson (trombone); Milton Bland (piano); Carl Banks, Barry Beckeett, Vonzell Cooper (organ); Charles Stepney (vibraphone); Reggie Boyd, Marion Wright, David Henderson (bass); Al Duncan, Lawrence Hamilton (drums); Phillip Thomas (percussion); The Moonglows (background vocals).
    Producers include: Billy Davis, Gabriel Mekler, Esmond Edwards, Monk Higgins, Rick Hall.
    Reissue producer: Andy McKaie.
    Principally recorded in Chicago between 1960-1975. Includes liner notes by David Ritz.
    Digitally remastered by Erick Labson (MCA Music Media Studios), except "Would It Make Any Difference," "Pay Back" and "Two Sides To Every Story" which were remixed to stereo from original 4-tracks.
    THE ESSENTIAL ETTA JAMES contains 2 CDs worth of recordings Etta James made for Chess Records between 1960-1975. Also included is a 16-page booklet with photos, interviews and track-by-track annotations.
    This is the definitive collection of Etta James's career-defining work at Chess Records. Spanning two discs and 44 tracks, THE ESSENTIAL takes the listener chronologically from 1960's heart-wrenching story-song "All I Could Do Is Cry" to 1975's "Lovin' Arms." Newcomers will be impressed by what long-time fans have always known: James is a masterful vocalist capable of moving from airy, nuanced balladry to gutbucket, growling blues within the space of single measure.
    This range is amply represented on THE ESSENTIAL with string-sweetened ballads ("Trust in Me"), rave-up rockers ("Something's Got a Hold on Me"), and soul workouts ("842-3089 [Call My Name]"). While the lion's share of material comes from the early '60s, 1967's "Tell Mama," recorded at the famed Muscle Shoals studio and possibly James's best-known song, comes blazing out on the second disc. The singer's skill at interpreting popular material can be heard too on Don Covay's "You Got It," Otis Redding's "Security," and three tunes by Randy Newman, including a deeply funky "You Can Leave Your Hat On." Whether accompanied by lush orchestrations or a full-tilt R&B band, James's gritty, soulful voice never faltered, and this set brings a beautiful sampling of her achievements under one cover.

0 Stars 0 average rating
Out of Stock
Our price $24.58
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for