CD The Essential Etta James [886977177323] (CD 6956279),
back to browsing

The Essential Etta James [886977177323]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Blues Is My Business, The
    2. If I Had Any Pride Left at All
    3. Crawlin' King Snake
    4. Born on the Bayou
    5. I've Been Lovin' You Too Long
    6. It's a Man's Man's Man's World
    7. Somebody to Love
    8. Cry Like a Rainy Day
    9. Hush Hush
    10. Miss You
    11. Rock, The
    12. Lil' Red Rooster
    13. Only Women Bleed
    14. Strongest Weakness
    15. Cry Me a River
    16. Purple Rain
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Try a Little Tenderness
    2. Night and Day
    3. Come Rain or Come Shine
    4. I'll Be Seeing You
    5. My Funny Valentine
    6. My Man
    7. Someone to Watch Over Me
    8. Man I Love, The
    9. In My Solitude
    10. Good Morning Heartache
    11. Very Thought of You, The
    12. He's Funny That Way
    13. Teach Me Tonight
    14. Embraceable You
    15. At Last
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 71773

  • Credits

    Liner Note Author: Jackson Braider.
    Etta James has been showing people how it's done for over 50 years now (her first single, "Roll with Me Henry," was tracked in 1955 when she was still a teenager), and her passionate, nuanced singing hasn't diminished one bit in the 21st century. Her earliest sides were blues-inflected R&B and soul numbers, but starting in the early '90s she expanded her material to include the Great American Songbook, tackling with style songs by composers like the Gershwins, Rodgers & Hart, and Cole Porter, and elegant versions of songs by rock artists like John Lennon and Prince, always bringing a weary, gritty grace to the table. This two-disc compilation set features some of the best sides she's recorded in the past two decades, including gems like her jazzy take on "Cry Me a River" and a heartbreaking version of "Try a Little Tenderness." But the heart of James' approach to business is the blues, as the wonderful set opener here, "The Blues Is My Business," states clearly, and her renditions collected here of Willie Dixon's "Little Red Rooster" and John Lee Hooker's "Crawlin' King Snake" are clear highlights in a collection filled to the brim with highlights. She's not a diva -- she's the real deal. This summation of her past 20 years as a recording artist shows just how real she still is. ~ Steve Leggett

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.78
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for