CD The Essential Herbie Hancock [Columbia/Legacy] [Remaster] (CD 1064352),
back to browsing

The Essential Herbie Hancock [Columbia/Legacy] [Remaster]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Watermelon Man
    2. Round Midnight
    3. Cataloupe Island
    4. Maiden Voyage
    5. Circle
    6. Sorcerer, The
    7. Tell Me a Bedtime Story
    8. Hidden Shadows
    9. Chameleon
    10. Joanna's Theme
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Butterfly
    2. People Music
    3. Milestones
    4. 4 Am
    5. Come Running to Me
    6. Goodbye Porpie Hat
    7. Finger Painting
    8. Stars in Your Eyes
    9. Rockit
    10. St. Louis Blues
    11. Manhattan
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 94593

  • Credits

    Personnel: Herbie Hancock (piano); Dexter Gordon, George Coleman, Hank Mobley (tenor saxophone); Freddie Hubbard, Donald Byrd (trumpet); Thad Jones (flugelhorn); Grachan Moncur III (trombone); Peter Phillips (bass trombone); Jerry Dodgion (alto flute); Butch Warren, Ron Carter, Chuck Israels (bass); Billy Higgins, Tony Williams, Mickey Roker (drums).
    Producer: Alfred Lion.
    Compilation producer: Michael Cuscuna.
    Recorded at the Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey between 1962 and 1968.
    Personnel: Herbie Hancock (vocals, piano, keyboards, synthesizer, vocoder, programming); Stevie Wonder (vocals, harmonica); Wayne Shorter, Bennie Maupin (tenor saxophone); Eddie Henderson, Freddie Hubbard, Miles Davis (trumpet); Julian Priester (trombone); Alphonse Mouzon (keyboards, drums); Ron Carter (upright bass); Jaco Pastorius, Paul Jackson , Bill Laswell (bass guitar); Harvey Mason, Sr. , Terri Lyne Carrington, Tony Williams (drums); Bill Summers (percussion).
    Liner Note Author: Bob Belden.
    A bold jazz innovator whose stylistic range is rivaled only by his mentor, Miles Davis, keyboardist/composer/bandleader Herbie Hancock receives Columbia/Legacy's ESSENTIAL treatment on this excellent 2006 two-disc set. Although whittling the finest moments of Hancock's strikingly eclectic, decades-spanning career down to a mere 20 tracks is an exercise in futility, the collection reveals admirable results within those constraints, offering up tunes from 1962 to 2000. Among the many brilliant moments on this comp are Hancock's swinging hard-bop classics "Watermelon Man" and "Cantaloupe Island" (both featuring ace trumpeter Freddie Hubbard), the fiercely funky "Chameleon," and the groundbreaking electro-pop hit "Rockit." Although many of Hancock's individual albums are essential in their own right, and the four-disc HERBIE HANCOCK BOX delves deeper into his daunting catalogue, this compilation is the perfect introduction to the stunning stylistic and technical breadth of the pioneering artist's output.

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (9/2/71, p.44) - "...ranges from the street-strutting funk of the early `Watermelon Man' through statements succesfully more challenging and complex..."
    JazzTimes (p.65) - "[Hancock is] a musician with passion, an open mind and an awareness of history that constantly propels him forward into new sonic territory."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.82
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for