CD The Essential Isley Brothers (CD 1063813),
back to browsing

The Essential Isley Brothers

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. Twist and Shout
    2. That Lady, Pts. 1 & 2
    3. What It Comes Down To
    4. Brown Eyed Girl
    5. For the Love of You, Pts. 1 & 2
    6. Groove With You
    7. Brother, Brother
    8. Work to Do
    9. Harvest for the World
    10. Summer Breeze
    11. Make Me Say It Again Girl, Pts. 1 & 2
    12. Live It Up, Pts. 1 & 2
    13. Fight the Power, Pts. 1 & 2
    14. Freedom
    15. Keep on Doin'
    16. This Old Heart of Mine (Is Weak for You)
    17. Move Over and Let Me Dance
    18. Shout, Pts. 1-2
    0. DISC 2:
    1. It's Your Thing
    2. I Turned You On
    3. Lay Away
    4. Love the One You're With
    5. Pop That Thang
    6. Spill the Wine
    7. Take Me to the Next Phase, Pts. 1 & 2
    8. I Wanna Be With You, Pts. 1 & 2
    9. Pride, Pts. 1 & 2, The
    10. Footsteps in the Dark, Pts. 1 & 2
    11. Voyage to Atlantis
    12. Don't Say Goodnight (It's Time for Love) Pts. 1 & 2
    13. Between the Sheets
    14. Caravan of Love
    15. Mission to Please You
    16. Down Low (Nobody Has to Know)
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 92777

  • Credits
    ProducerRonald Isley; Bert Berns; Hugo Peretti; Rudolph Isley; O'Kelly Isley; R. Kelly; Ernie Isley; Angela Winbush; Marvin Isley; Chris Jasper; Lamont Dozier; Luigi Creatore; Brian Holland; Bert Berns; Hugo Peretti; R. Kelly; Angela Winbush; Leo Sacks (Compilation)
    EngineerMalcolm Cecil; Robert Margouleff

    The Isley Brothers: Ernie Isley (acoustic 6-string guitar, bass instrument); Chris Jasper (piano); Marvin Isley (bass instrument); O'Kelly Isley, Ronald Isley, Rudolph Isley.
    Personnel: Chris Jasper (vocals, grand piano, electric piano, Clavinet, ARP synthesizer, tambourine, percussion, background vocals); Ronald Isley (vocals, background vocals); Charles Pitts, Jimi Hendrix (guitar); Ernie Isley (acoustic guitar, acoustic 12-string guitar, electric guitar, drums, congas, maracas, timbales, percussion, background vocals); John Mosley (flute); Milton Westley, Truman Thomas (organ); George Moreland (drums, percussion); Buck Clarke, Karl Potter, Rocky, Gary Jones (congas); Marvin Isley (cowbells, wood block, percussion, background vocals); Malcolm Cecil, Robert Margouleff (programming); O'Kelly Isley, Rudolph Isley (background vocals).
    Additional personnel: Jimi Hendrix, The Funk Brothers.
    Liner Note Author: Rashod D. Ollison.
    Photographers: Don Hunstein; Waring Abbott; John Bellissimo; Bob Gruen.
    Arrangers: Ronald Isley; Rudolph Isley; O'Kelly Isley; Ernie Isley; Marvin Isley; Chris Jasper; George Patterson; Teachco Wilshire.
    The Isley Brothers are one of the most important groups in R&B history. They modernized the concept of the black singing group, and broke new ground with hits that were either influenced by or borrowed from a variety of musical styles. In addition to performing many of their own songs, the Isleys perform soulful renditions of Seals & Crofts's "Summer Breeze" and Stephen Stills's "Love the One You're With" on this ESSENTIAL collection.
    The two-disc set presents the original 1962 version of "Twist and Shout" and other latter-day Isley favorites such as the funky "It's Your Thing" and the bold "Fight the Power." Another highlight of this compilation is "Move Over and Let Me Dance," featuring a rare guest appearance by Jimi Hendrix. Boasting 34 tracks that span from '59 to '96, THE ESSENTIAL ISLEY BROTHERS is an excellent introduction to this inimitable band.

  • Critic Reviews
    Down Beat (p.76) - 4.5 stars out of 5 - "[T]he Isleys have earned a prominent place in the pantheon of r&b."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.90
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for