CD The Essential Michael Jackson [CD Boxset] [2 discs] [827969428726] (CD 1064939),
back to browsing

The Essential Michael Jackson [CD Boxset] [2 discs] [827969428726]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. I Want You Back
    2. ABC
    3. Love You Save, The
    4. Got to Be There
    5. Rockin' Robin
    6. Ben
    7. Enjoy Yourself
    8. Blame It on the Boogie
    9. Shake Your Body (Down to the Ground)
    10. Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough
    11. Rock with You
    12. Off the Wall
    13. She's Out My Life
    14. Can You Feel It
    15. Girl Is Mine, The
    16. Billie Jean
    17. Beat It
    18. Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'
    19. Human Nature
    20. P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing)
    21. Thriller
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Bad
    2. I Just Can't Stop Loving You
    3. Leave Me Alone
    4. Way You Make Me Feel, The
    5. Man in the Mirror
    6. Dirty Diana
    7. Another Part of Me
    8. Smooth Criminal
    9. Black or White
    10. Heal the World
    11. Remember the Time
    12. In the Closet
    13. Who Is It
    14. Will You Be There
    15. Dangerous
    16. You Are Not Alone
    17. You Rock My World
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 94287

  • Credits
    ProducerMichael Jackson; Hal Davis; Mel Larson; Jerry Marcellino; Leon Huff; Quincy Jones; Bill Bottrell; Teddy Riley; Kenny Gamble; R. Kelly; Rodney Jerkins; Bruce Swedien; The Corporation; Hal Davis; Mel Larson; Jerry Marcellino; Kenneth Gamble; Leon Huff; Quincy Jones; Bill Bottrell
    EngineerDexter Simmons; Don Murray; Jeff Tarsia; Jean Marie Horvat; Peter Granet; Rodney Jerkins; Stuart Brawley; Brad Gilderman

    Personnel: Michael Jackson (vocals, soprano, percussion, background vocals); Michael Jackson; Linda Harmon (vocals, soprano); Christa Larson, Ashley Ferrell, Andra Crouch, Mystery Girl (vocals); Vincent Price (rap vocals, spoken vocals); L.T.B. (rap vocals); Mario Henderson, Slash, Steve Stevens , Trevor Rabin (guitar); David "Hawk" Wolinski (piano, electric piano); Brad Buxer (keyboards, synthesizer); George Duke, Glen Ballard, Rhett Lawrence (synthesizer); Gary King, Louis Johnson, Nathan Watts, Bobby Watson (bass guitar); Claudio Slon (drums, congas, percussion); Rick Marotta (drums, percussion); Ed Green , Ed Green, Jeff Porcaro (drums); Bryan Loren (percussion); Becky Lopez, Zedric Williams, Julia Waters, Maxine Willard Waters, Andra Crouch Choir, Oren Waters, Bunny Hull (background vocals); Paul McCartney (vocals, background vocals); Siedah Garrett (vocals); Larry Carlton, Michael Sembello, Roland Bautista , Tito Jackson, David E. Williams , Marlo Henderson (guitar); Greg Phillinganes (electric piano, keyboards, synthesizer); David Paich, Michael Boddicker (keyboards, synthesizer); Steve Porcaro, Teddy Riley (synthesizer); Laudir DeOliveira (drums, congas, percussion); John "4 Daddman" Robinson (drums); Paulinho Da Costa, Randy Jackson , Richard Heath (percussion); James Ingram , Jim Gilstrap, Paulette McWilliams, Mortonette Jenkins, Augie Johnson (background vocals); Jerry Hey, Jimmy Smith , Kim Hutchcroft, Larry Williams .
    Audio Mixers: Don Murray ; Jeff Tarsia; Jay Marks; Peter Granet; Rodney Jerkins; Bruce Swedien.
    Liner Note Author: Nelson George.
    Recording information: Record One, Los Angeles, CA (1969-1999); Sony Studios, New York, NY (1969-1999); sony Studios, NY (1969-1999).
    Ensemble: Seawind Horns.
    Introduction bys: Michael Jackson; Chris Tucker.
    Photographers: Todd Gray; Kenny Rogers; Neal Preston; Dick Zimmerman; Sam Emerson.
    Unknown Contributor Roles: John Bahler Singers; Frank DiLeo; The Winans.
    Arrangers: Michael Jackson; Quincy Jones; James Ingram ; Steve Porcaro; David Paich; Bobby Martin ; Jackie Jackson ; Marty Paich; Steve Lukather.
    The title might sound like hyperbole, but this two-disc collection is, in fact, a pretty fair summation of Michael Jackson's career up to 2005. Of course, it's impossible for two discs to hold every hit single Michael Jackson has ever had, but THE ESSENTIAL MICHAEL JACKSON starts with the Jackson Five's debut single, "I Want You Back," and ends 38 tracks later with the 2001 comeback attempt "You Rock My World." In between is a chronological overview of some of the most significant pop music in the last three decades of the 20th century, climaxing with about two-thirds of THRILLER and half of OFF THE WALL, the album that in retrospect sounds even fresher and more exciting than its blockbuster follow-up. Disc Two starts in 1987 with eight tracks from the underrated BAD, and its second half does the listener the handy service of compressing the second act of Michael Jackson's life story (a time when the tabloid headlines were overshadowing his increasingly formulaic music) into nine entirely respectable, if not earth-shattering, singles.

  • Critic Reviews
    Uncut (p.119) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[T]his is magical pop."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $12.69
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for