CD The Essential Michael Jackson [Slipcase] (CD 4671106),
back to browsing

The Essential Michael Jackson [Slipcase]

  • 1. I Want You Back
    2. ABC
    3. Love You Save, The
    4. Got To Be There
    5. Rockin' Robin
    6. Ben
    7. Enjoy Yourself
    8. Blame It On The Boogie
    9. Shake Your Body (Down To The Ground)
    10. Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough
    11. Rock With You
    12. Off The Wall
    13. She's Out Of My Life
    14. Can You Feel It
    15. Girl Is Mine, The
    16. Billie Jean
    17. Beat It
    18. Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'
    19. Human Nature
    20. P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing)
    21. Thriller
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Bad
    2. I Just Can't Stop Loving You
    3. Leave Me Alone
    4. Way You Make Me Feel, The
    5. Man In The Mirror
    6. Dirty Diana
    7. Another Part Of Me
    8. Smooth Criminal
    9. Black Or White
    10. Heal The World
    11. Remember The Time
    12. In The Closet
    13. Who Is It
    14. Will You Be There
    15. Dangerous
    16. You Are Not Alone
    17. You Rock My World
    0. DISC 3:
    1. Can't Get Outta The Rain
    2. Say, Say, Say
    3. Jam
    4. They Don't Care About Us
    5. Blood On The Dance Floor
    6. Stranger In Moscow
    7. Butterflies
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 88697309852

  • Credits
    ProducerHal Davis; Jerry Marcellino; Kenneth Gamble; Leon Huff; Mel Larson; Michael Jackson; Andre Harris; Quincy Jones; R. Kelly; Rodney Jerkins; Teddy Riley; The Corporation; The Jacksons; Bill Bottrell; Bruce Swedien
    EngineerDon Murray; Joe Tarsia; Peter Granet

    Personnel: Michael Jackson (vocals, percussion, background vocals); Christa Larson, Ashley Farell, Linda Harmon, Siedah Garrett, Vincent Price (vocals); L.T.B., Heavy D (rap vocals); Andre Harris (various instruments); David Williams , Slash, Steve Lukather, Steve Stevens , Trevor Rabin, Marlo Henderson (guitar); Michael Sembello, Roland Bautista , Tito Jackson (guitars); Jeff Bradshaw, Matt Cappy (horns); David Paich (keyboards, synthesizer, bass instrument); Brad Buxer, Teddy Riley (keyboards, synthesizer, drum programming); Steve Porcaro (keyboards, synthesizer); Ed Green (keyboards, drums); Greg Phillinganes (keyboards); George Duke (synthesizer, programming); Michael Boddicker (synthesizer); Bobby Watson, Gary King, Louis Johnson, Nathan Watts (bass instrument); Rick Morotta (drums, percussion); John "4 Daddman" Robinson (drums); Claudio Slon , Laudir DeOliveira (congas); Paulinho Da Costa, Randy Jackson , Richard Heath (percussion); Matt Carpenter (programming); Marsha Ambrosius, Becky Lopez, Zedric Williams, James Ingram , Jim Gilstrap, Julia Waters, Maxine Willard Waters, Andra Crouch Choir, Oren Waters, Paulette McWilliams, Mortonette Jenkins, Augie Johnson, Bunny Hull (background vocals); Frank DiLeo, Seawind Horns, The Winans.
    Audio Mixers: Don Murray ; Jay Marks; Joe Tarsia; Peter Granet.
    Arrangers: Tom Tom 84; Jorge Del Barrio Jr.; Christopher Currell; David Paich; Greg Phillinganes; Jackie Johnson; Jerry Hey; Johnny Mandel; Michael Jackson; Quincy Jones; Ren Moore; Rod Temperton; Teddy Riley; The Corporation; The Jacksons; Ben Wright ; John Bahler; Bobby Martin; Bruce Swedien.
    The title might sound like hyperbole, but this two-disc collection is, in fact, a pretty fair summation of Michael Jackson's career up to 2005. Of course, it's impossible for two discs to hold every hit single Michael Jackson has ever had, but THE ESSENTIAL MICHAEL JACKSON starts with the Jackson Five's debut single, "I Want You Back," and ends 38 tracks later with the 2001 comeback attempt "You Rock My World." In between is a chronological overview of some of the most significant pop music in the last three decades of the 20th century, climaxing with about two-thirds of THRILLER and half of OFF THE WALL, the album that in retrospect sounds even fresher and more exciting than its blockbuster follow-up. Disc Two starts in 1987 with eight tracks from the underrated BAD, and its second half does the listener the handy service of compressing the second act of Michael Jackson's life story (a time when the tabloid headlines were overshadowing his increasingly formulaic music) into nine entirely respectable, if not earth-shattering, singles.

  • Critic Reviews
    Uncut (p.119) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[T]his is magical pop."
0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $16.03
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for