CD The Evolution (CD 1100023),
back to browsing

The Evolution

  • CD
  • 2 discs

  • 1. That's Right
    2. Like a Boy
    3. Evolution of Music, The (Interlude)
    4. Promise
    5. I Proceed
    6. Can't Leave 'Em Alone
    7. C.R.U.S.H.
    8. My Love
    9. Evolution of Dance, The (Interlude)
    10. Make It Last Forever
    11. Bang It Up
    12. Get Up
    13. Evolution of Fashion, The (Interlude)
    14. Get in, Fit In
    15. Evolution of C, The (Interlude)
    16. So Hard
    17. I'm Just Me
    18. I Found Myself
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 70336

  • Credits

    On 2006's THE EVOLUTION, Ciara's follow-up to her breakthrough album, GOODIES, the Atlanta-based singer offers an assured set of songs that expand her signature crunk-leaning R&B sound. Featuring a cadre of ubiquitous producers, most notably the Black Eyed Peas' and the Neptunes' Pharrell, and a handful of superstar rappers (50 Cent and Lil Jon, among others), the record largely finds Ciara in a poppier mode, as best revealed on the sensual, synth-heavy "Promise" and "Get Up," a frenetic dance number that incorporates Chamillionaire's deft rhymes to great effect. While GOODIES marked Ciara's arrival as a major R&B/hip-hop star, THE EVOLUTION cements her status as an artist who can work both within and outside of those stylistic boundaries.
    DVD Features:
    DVD Includes:
    1. Ciara And Dancers Teach Moves From "Get Up".
    2. "Get Up" Music Video
    3. Ciara And Dancers Teach Moves From "Promise".
    4. "Promise" Music Video
    5. Behind The Scenes Of "Promise"

  • Critic Reviews
    Rolling Stone (p.126) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "Packed with electro beats and Miami bass, cuts like 'I Proceed' and 'Bang It Up' blend hooks and underground club chicness."
    Entertainment Weekly (p.96) - "'Like A Boy' is a Ciara song par excellence: a stirring revenge fantasy, sung over symphonic keyboard stabs....The dance songs are rugged and terrific." -- Grade: B+
    Q (p.123) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[A] superbly consistent R&B collection with the Fiddy team-up 'Can't Leave 'Em Alone' a sure-fire future hit..."
    Vibe (p.112) - "Quiet-storm throwback 'Promise' finds Ciara's Vanity 6-esque vocals nuzzling soft synth beats."
0 Stars 0 average rating
  • Genre: R&B
  • UPC: 886970333627
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $10.99
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for