CD The Great American Songbook [Nancy Wilson] [CD Boxset] [2 discs] (CD 916396),
back to browsing

The Great American Songbook [Nancy Wilson] [CD Boxset] [2 discs]

  • 0. DISC 1:
    1. All of You
    2. Things We Did Last Summer, The
    3. More I See You, The
    4. Nearness of You, The
    5. Never Will I Marry
    6. What a Little Moonlight Can Do
    7. Little Girl Blue
    8. Tonight
    9. Sometimes I'm Happy
    10. Secret Love
    11. Sleepin' Bee
    12. Fly Me to the Moon
    13. On the Street Where You Live
    14. You Don't Know What Love Is
    15. This Time the Dream's on Me
    16. Sophisticated Lady
    17. Dearly Beloved
    18. My Ship
    19. My Shining Hour
    20. I'm Gonna Laugh You Right out of My Life
    21. Back in Your Own Backyard
    22. People Will Say We're in Love
    0. DISC 2:
    1. Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered
    2. Try a Little Tenderness
    3. At Long Last Love
    4. In a Sentimental Mood
    5. When the Sun Comes Out
    6. I Thought About You
    7. Darn That Dream
    8. Very Thought of You, The
    9. Like Someone in Love
    10. Angel Eyes
    11. My One and Only Love
    12. Song Is You, The
    13. Lush Life
    14. It Never Entered My Mind
    15. Prelude to a Kiss
    16. By Myself
    17. Glad to Be Unhappy
    18. Time After Time
    19. Hello Dolly
    20. Supper Time
    21. Someone to Watch over Me
    22. You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To
  • Additional Info
    Manufacturer Part Number (MPN): 77562

  • Credits
    ProducerDave Cavanaugh; Tom Morgan; Andy Wiswell; Dave Cavanaugh; Tom Morgan; Richard Seidel (Compilation)

    Personnel: Nancy Wilson (vocals); Joe Gibbons, Bobby Gibbons, John Michael Gray, Jack Marshall, Mundell Lowe, John Collins, Bob Bain, Charles Wright (guitar); Bob Hardaway (flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, English horn); Justin Gordon (flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, saxophone); Abe Most, Ted Nash (flute, clarinet); Bill Green (bass flute, saxophone, alto saxophone); Ernie Snell (bass flute, baritone saxophone); Benny Carter (reeds, saxophone); Jules Jacobs, Bill Ulyate (reeds); Arthur Herfurt, William Ulyate, Jerome A. Kasper, Bill Perkins, Bill Hood, Buddy Collette (saxophone); Jimmy Woods, Joe Maini, Bill Green (alto saxophone); Harold Land, Teddy Edwards (tenor saxophone); Clyde Reasinger, Uan Rasey, Conrad Gozzo , Jules Chaikin, Freddie Hill, Emanuel Klein, Harry "Sweets" Edison, Carmell Jones, Jimmy Salko, Joe Graves, Al Porcino, Pete Candoli, John Audino, Bobby Bryant (trumpet); James A. Decker, Henry DeRosa, Richard Mackey, Richard Perissi, Arthur Frantz, Henry Sigismonti (French horn); Milt Bernhart, Chuck Cooper, Dick Noel, William Schaefer, Don Switzer, George Roberts , Lew McReary, Pullman Pederson, Richard Nash, Eddie Kusby, John Ewing , Milt Bernhardt, Murray McEachern, Phil Teele, Tommy Pederson , Kenny Shroyer, Lew McCreary, Lester Robertson, Lloyd Ulyate (trombone); Red Callender (tuba); Jack Wilson (piano, celesta); Donn Trenner, George Shearing, Jimmy Jones , Lou Levy, Ralph Sharon, Ronnell Bright, Meyer Rubin (piano); George Duvivier, Jimmy Bond, Joe Mondragon, Sam Jones, Joe Comfort (bass instrument); Carol Kaye (electric bass); Buster Williams (bass guitar); Grady Tate, Stan Levey, Kenny Dennis (drums); Gene Estes, Larry Bunker (percussion); Dick Garcia, Gene Bertoncini, Joe Pass (guitar); Gene Cipriano (bass flute, tenor saxophone); Chuck Gentry, Willie Smith, Paul Horn (reeds); Plas Johnson (saxophone, tenor saxophone, trombone); Fred Falensby (saxophone); Frank Strozier, Cannonball Adderley (alto saxophone); Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis (tenor saxophone); Jack Nimitz (baritone saxophone); Don Fagerquist, Frank Beach (trumpet); Nat Adderley (cornet); Vincent DeRosa (French horn); Si Zentner, Bob Edmondson (trombone); Hank Jones , Joe Zawinul, Milt Raskin (piano); Hal Blaine (vibraphone, drums, chimes); Victor Feldman (vibraphone, timpani, percussion); Eddie Costa (vibraphone); Louis Hayes, Nick Ceroli, Shelly Manne, Irving Cottler, Walter Bolden (drums); Emil Richards (percussion); Gerald Wilson Orchestra, Ron Carter .
    Liner Note Author: Donald Elfman.
    Recording information: Capitol studios, Los Angeles, CA (12/05/1959-11/06/1969).
    Photographer: Ken Veeder.
    Arrangers: George Shearing; Gerald Wilson; Jimmy Jones ; Oliver Nelson; Billy May.
    One of three excellent Nancy Wilson compilations issued simultaneously by Capitol Jazz in 2005, THE GREAT AMERICAN SONGBOOK cherry-picks from the many standards that the pop/jazz vocalist recorded for the label between 1959 and '69. Here the often-underrated singer, who delicately balances emotion and clear enunciation, works with ensembles both large and small, and her various collaborators include conductor Billy May, saxophonist Cannonball Adderley, bassist Ron Carter, and pianists George Shearing, Hank Jones, and Joe Zawinul.
    Just a few highlights of this collection are a rollicking big-band rendition of "What a Little Moonlight Can Do," a sauntering take on the Harold Arlen/Truman Capote-penned "Sleepin' Bee," and a gorgeously minimal version of "In a Sentimental Mood," which showcases Wilson's mellifluous voice. Although Wilson truly shines in a small-group setting, she can capably front an orchestra, as revealed on "It Never Entered My Mind" and other numbers. With 44 tracks that boast beautifully remastered sound, this well-compiled two-disc set should help to deservedly raise Wilson's profile.

0 Stars 0 average rating
In Stock -- Item Ships for FREE
Our price $23.14
Add to wishlist

What viewers like you said...

Have you listened to this album? Be the first to write a review

Also suggested for you...

  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for


  • buy now for